CD The Essential Carole King (CD 6311659),
back to browsing

The Essential Carole King

  • 0. DISC 1: THE SINGER:
    1. It Might as Well Rain Until September
    2. Child of Mine
    3. I Feel the Earth Move
    4. So Far Away
    5. It's Too Late
    6. You've Got a Friend
    7. Sweet Seasons
    8. Been to Canaan
    9. Corazn
    10. Jazzman
    11. Nightingale
    12. Only Love Is Real
    13. Will You Love Me Tomorrow/Some Kind of Wonderful/Up on the Roof - (featuring James Taylor)
    14. Really Rosie
    15. Pierre - (live, featuring James Taylor)
    16. You Can Do Anything - (featuring Babyface)
    17. Reason, The - (featuring Babyface/Celine Dion)
    18. Now and Forever - (featuring Celine Dion)
    1. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
    2. Take Good Care of My Baby
    3. Every Breath I Take
    4. Crying in the Rain
    5. Loco-Motion, The
    6. Up on the Roof
    7. Chains
    8. One Fine Day
    9. Oh No Not My Baby
    10. Just Once in My Life
    11. Pleasant Valley Sunday
    12. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
    13. No Easy Way Down
    14. Wasn't Born to Follow
    15. Hey Girl
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 68257

  • Credits
    ProducerSteve Berkowitz (Compilation); Lou Adler (Compilation); Rob Santos (Compilation)

    Liner Note Authors: Harvey Robert Kubernik; Andrew Loog Oldham.
    Photographers: Jim McCrary; Gijsbert Hanekroot; Ron Sachs.
    Unlike many previous Carole King collections, Sony/Legacy's 2010 set The Essential Carole King doesn't concentrate solely on her hits as a performer: it also has a second disc of songs she wrote for other artists, the songs that established her reputation as one of the great songwriters of her time. Despite the broad scope of Essential, it's inevitable that some classics are missing -- naturally more on the second Songwriter disc, which offers merely a sampling of the many great songs she penned, whereas all her big hits ("I Feel the Earth Move," "So Far Away," "It's Too Late," "You've Got a Friend," "Jazzman") save the inexplicably missing "Smackwater Jack" are on the first -- but this does contain the lion's share of her major songs as both a singer and songwriter, making it the best overview of her work released to date. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for