CD The Essential Janis Ian (CD 4679122),
back to browsing

The Essential Janis Ian

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hair of Spun Gold
    2. God & the FBI - (previously unreleased, live)
    3. Silly Habits - (live)
    4. Society's Child
    5. Haven't I Got Eyes
    6. Jesse
    7. Stars
    8. Thankyous
    9. This Train Still Runs - (live)
    10. At Seventeen
    11. Live Is Blind
    12. Fly Too High
    13. Arms Around My Life
    14. His Hands - (previously unreleased)
    15. When Angels Cry
    0. DISC 2:
    1. My Tennessee Hills
    2. Every Love
    3. Some People's Lives - (previously unreleased)
    4. Stolen Fire
    5. Days Like These - (previously unreleased)
    6. Tattoo - (live)
    7. Through the Years - (previously unreleased)
    8. I Hear You Sing Again
    9. Joy
    10. My Autobiography
    11. Hair of Spun Gold [Original Work Tape of Janis' First Song] - (previously unreleased)
    12. I Long for You - (previously unreleased)
    13. Ginny the Flying Girl
    14. Johnny I Hardly Knew Ye
    15. Today You're Mine - (previously unreleased)
    16. At Seventeen
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 756196

  • Credits
    ProducerDavid Levine; George "Shadow" Morton; Giorgio Moroder; Janis Ian; Jeff Balding; John Jennings; Lucy Simon; Marc Moreau; Brooks Arthur
    EngineerRob Clark; Dave Sinko; Charlie Dreyer; Jeff Balding; Larry Alexander; Marc Moreau; Russ Payne; Brooks Arthur; Chad Hailey

    Personnel: Dolly Parton (vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Robert Haynes; Jeff Balding.
    Liner Note Author: Janis Ian.
    Recording information: Birchmere, Alexandria, VA (10/1991-??/1995); Masterlink Studio, Nashville, TN (10/1991-??/1995); Royal Festival Hall, London, England (10/1991-??/1995); Schouwburg Concordia, Breda, The Netherlands (10/1991-??/1995).
    Author: Janis Ian.
    Photographers: Art Maillet; Peter Cunningham.
    Arranger: Janis Ian.
    Compiled by Janis Ian herself, the two-CD THE ESSENTIAL JANIS IAN offers a wealth of material spanning more than 40 years, though it might not be quite what some listeners primed for a best-of are expecting. Ian's most commercially successful recordings spanned less than half this period (roughly from the late '60s through the early '80s), and while the most famous songs from that era are here, greater weight is given to her post-1990 material. Yes, her teen hit "Society's Child" is here (though her late-'60s recordings are very sparsely represented), as well as her most prominent songs from her 1970s stint with Columbia Records, "At Seventeen" and "Jesse." Although there's not much in terms of rarities, there are a few inclusions that collectors will appreciate, among them a mid-'60s demo of "Hair of Spun Gold" that predates the version from her first album; a previously unissued 1978 track, "I Long for You"; a live 2000 performance of "God & the FBI"; the single version of "At Seventeen"; "Ginny the Flying Girl," originally heard on the 1981 Sesame Street album IN HARMONY 2.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9,999.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for