CD The Essential Lou Reed (CD 15649690),
back to browsing

The Essential Lou Reed

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Who Am I (Tripitena's Song)
    2. Sweet Jane
    3. Rock & Roll
    4. I'm Waiting For the Man
    5. White Light/White Heat
    6. Street Hassle: Waltzing Matilda/Street Hassle/Slipaway
    7. Berlin
    8. Caroline Says II
    9. Kids, The
    10. Walk On the Wild Side
    11. Kill Your Sons
    12. Vicious
    13. Blue Mask, The
    14. I'll Be Your Mirror
    15. Magic & Loss
    16. Ecstasy
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Wanna Be Black
    2. Temporary Thing
    3. Shooting Star
    4. Legendary Hearts
    5. Heroin
    6. Coney Island Baby
    7. Last Shot, The
    8. Bells, The
    9. Perfect Day
    10. Sally Can't Dance
    11. Satellite of Love
    12. NYC Man
    13. Dirty Blvd.
    14. Rocket Minuet
    15. Pale Blue Eyes
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 792212

  • Credits
    ProducerLothar Landt (Compilation); Lou Reed (Compilation); Rob Santos (Compilation)

    Liner Note Author: Michael Hill.
    Photographers: Timothy Greenfield-Sanders; Mick Rock ; John Hudson.
    If you were given the assignment of compiling an album of the best-of Lou Reed, it wouldn't be inappropriate to ask, "Which Lou Reed?" Reed's done more than his share of musical shape shifting over the decades, and you could assemble compelling albums documenting either the proto-punk who led the Velvet Underground, the glam-centric dandy that recorded Transformer and Sally Can't Dance, the literate but doomstruck scenarist of Berlin and The Raven, the self-reflective poet with guitar on The Blue Mask and Legendary Hearts, or the darkly witty social commentator behind New York and Set the Twilight Reeling, which still leaves a several personas to be accounted for. The chief virtue and flaw of The Essential Lou Reed (a repacked version of the 2003 set NYC Man: The Ultimate Lou Reed Collection) is that it was compiled by Reed himself, and in his hands, it's a more ambitious overview than the many greatest-hits packages that have been released to date. It tries to make some sense of his creative wanderlust, but it also gives a somewhat lopsided view of his body of work. While "Walk on the Wild Side" remains Reed's only real hit single, there are plenty of tracks that gained radio and video play that missed the cut, such as "I Love You Suzanne," "Busload of Faith," "No Money Down," and "Rock and Roll Heart," and if you're looking for songs you're likely to recognize, this package runs hot and cold. Also, Reed chose to program this set without regard to chronology, so the first disc begins with a tune from his then-new The Raven, followed by "Sweet Jane" from the Velvet Underground's Loaded, which is only the first of several clumsy segues (as well as unwittingly pointing out how rough Reed's voice sounded on The Raven). But if this set leans to Reed's self-consciously "important" work rather than his most popular, most compilers wouldn't throw in anything from his wildly eccentric 1978 live double Take No Prisoners, let alone "I Wanna Be Black," and Reed knows that the live take of "Kill Your Sons" on 1984's Live in Italy is vastly superior to the studio cut on Sally Can't Dance (though someone else might not fade out the 5:43 track at 4:09). Reed also contributed comments on all the songs for the liner notes, which are sometimes enlightening, though he seems more comfortable discussing remastering than anything else. Simply stated, The Essential Lou Reed is Reed's own summation of his music from 1966 to 2003, and he clearly knows his best work from his throwaways. But he doesn't quite know how to put it together coherently or honor his more accessible side (and he does have one), so the result is a collection that's deep but frustratingly narrow. ~ Mark Deming

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.87
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for