CD The Headless Children (CD 7048678),
back to browsing

The Headless Children

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Heretic, The (The Lost Child)
    2. Real Me, The
    3. Headless Children, The
    4. Thunderhead
    5. Mean Man
    6. Neutron Bomber, The
    7. Mephisto Waltz
    8. Forever Free
    9. Maneater
    10. Rebel in the F.D.G.
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Locomotive Breath
    2. For Whom the Bell Tolls
    3. Lake of Fools
    4. War Cry
    5. L.O.V.E. Machine - (live)
    6. Blind in Texas - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 974

  • Credits
    ProducerBlackie Lawless
    EngineerDuane Baron; Alex Woltman; Mikey Davis

    Also available in a 3-pack with THE LAST COMMAND and W.A.S.P.
    W.A.S.P.: Blackie Lawless (vocals, guitar); Chris Holmes (guitar); Johnny Rod (bass guitar, background vocals).
    Additional personnel: Ken Hensley (keyboards); Frankie Banali (percussion); Diana Fennell, Lita Ford, Mark Humphreys, Jimi Image, Minka Kelly, Thomas Nellen, Cathi Paige, Mike Solan, Kevin Wallace, Melba Wallace, Ron Wallace (background vocals).
    This 1998 reissue includes 6 bonus tracks and liner notes by Dante Bonutto.
    Personnel: Blackie Lawless (vocals, guitar); Johnny Rod (vocals, bass guitar); Chris Holmes (guitar); Ken Hensley (keyboards); Frankie Banali (drums, percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Michael Wagener ; Mikey Davis.
    Liner Note Authors: Dante Bonutto; Blackie Lawless; Dom Lawson.
    Editor: Rhonda Schoen.
    Photographer: Dick Zimmerman.
    With 1988's The Headless Children, W.A.S.P. attempted to be taken as serious artists (for the most part). And while singer/guitarist/leader Blackie Lawless expressed excitement about the band's current lineup, which included longtime guitarist Chris Holmes, bassist Johnny Rod, Quiet Riot drummer Frankie Banali, and Uriah Heep keyboardist Ken Hensley -- the complete group never toured. With the band concentrating more on the music than the gimmicks (the group was pictured sans ghoulish makeup and costumes), The Headless Children remains W.A.S.P.'s most accomplished work. The album's best-known tracks remain their cover of the Who's Quadrophenia anthem "The Real Me" and the rocking "Mean Man" (an autobiographical tale about guitarist Holmes), while a pair of epics -- "The Heretic" and the title track -- and perhaps W.A.S.P.'s best ballad, "Forever Free," were also standouts. While longtime fans may prefer the gross-out heavy metal of their early albums (W.A.S.P. and The Last Command), The Headless Children is their best constructed album. [The 1998 CD reissue contained six added bonus tracks -- among them a cover of Jethro Tull's "Locomotive Breath" and live versions of "L.O.V.E. Machine" and "Blind in Texas."] ~ Greg Prato

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.50
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for