CD The Legendary Group at Their Best [Box] [The Astronauts] [4 discs] (CD 679025),
back to browsing

The Legendary Group at Their Best [Box] [The Astronauts] [4 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Baja
    2. Surfin' U.S.A.
    3. Misirlou
    4. Surfer's Stomp
    5. Susie-Q
    6. Pipeline
    7. Kuk
    8. Banzai Pipeline
    9. Movin'
    10. Baby Let's Play House
    11. Let's Go Trippin'
    12. Batman
    13. Bo Diddley
    14. If I Had a Hammer
    15. It's So Easy
    16. Dream Lover
    17. Wine, Wine, Wine
    18. Money
    19. Big Boss Man
    20. Stormy Monday Blues
    21. Shortnin' Bread
    22. I Need You
    23. What'd I Say
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Hey Sugarfoot
    2. My Sin Is My Pride
    3. I'm a Fool
    4. Little Lover
    5. Quiet Village
    6. You Gotta Let Me Go
    7. Almost Grown
    8. Loves Goes On
    9. Can't You See I Do
    10. Go Go Go
    11. Grouch
    12. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
    13. Ain't That Just Like Me
    14. Mary Lou
    15. I Still Remember
    16. I'll Stay With You
    17. Baby What You Want Me to Do
    18. Twist and Shout
    19. Unchain My Heart
    20. Crawfish Song
    21. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
    22. Sweet Sweet Child
    23. Reelin' and Rockin'
    24. I'm a Rollin' Stone
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Little Ford Ragtop
    2. Competition Coupe
    3. Hearse
    4. '55 Bird
    5. Devil Drivers Theme
    6. Happy Ho-Daddy
    7. Our Car Club
    8. Devil Driver
    9. Chevy Scarfer
    10. Stingray
    11. El Aguila (The Eagle)
    12. 650 Scrambler
    13. Johnny B. Goode
    14. Be-Bop-a-Lu-La
    15. Good Golly Miss Molly
    16. Linda Lou
    17. Bony Moronie
    18. Diddy Wah Diddy
    19. Roll Over Beethoven
    20. Shop Around
    21. Greenback Dollar
    22. Summertime
    23. Sticks and Stones
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Down Home Girl
    2. Memphis Tennessee
    3. Oh Baby (We Got a Good Thing Goin')
    4. Dimples
    5. Seventh Sign
    6. Walking the Dog
    7. Sweet Little Rock and Roller
    8. Only Those in Love
    9. Down the Line
    10. Where There's Smoke There's Fire
    11. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
    12. It Could Never Be the Same
    13. In the Midnight Hour
    14. She's Just My Style
    15. Let's Go Get Stoned
    16. Main Street
    17. Birds and the Bees
    18. Laugh, Laugh
    19. Count Me In
    20. I Know You Rider
    21. In My Car
    22. Travelin' Man
    23. Out of Limits
    24. Better Things
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 090

  • Credits

    Also available on Collectables as 4 separate 2-for-1 CDs.
    The Astronauts are one of the many bands to be included in the Legendary Group at Their Best collections. Unlike many of the other groups in the series, the Astronauts did not have much musical credibility or strong songs to back them up. They were mostly a cover band, and although they performed their covers with a strong vigor and energy, they never really came very close to the quality of what they were covering. Besides "Baja," their lone charting hit, there are almost a hundred songs here that will probably be familiar to fans of '60s rock. The Astronauts covered everyone from Henry Mancini to Wilson Pickett, and, over the eight albums included in this set, there are maybe 15 songs that had not been recorded by another group when they covered them. On the group's first few albums, it is obvious that their enthusiasm and playing skills kept them going strong. These albums contain the best songs on the set, not only are many of their excellent surf instrumental covers included, but their covers still had that Fender reverb sound that made them charming. But as the albums continue to go on, they begin to turn into a pop band. The surf guitar is still there, but on tracks like "Where There's Smoke There's Fire" they practically bury it to try and showcase their minimal harmonizing talents. Nothing here is really that bad, it is just a little bit of overkill with so many covers and such a large volume of music. Fans of the band may want to get this to have the complete '60s recordings, but most casual listeners will probably find this to be a hard pill to swallow despite the obvious talent behind it. The albums included on the four CDs here are Surfing With the Astronauts, Everything Ds A-OK!, Competition Coupe, Astronauts Orbit Kampus, Go...Go...Go!!!, For You From Us, Down the Line, and Travelin' Men. ~ Bradley Torreano

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $53.24
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for