CD The Legion Sessions (CD 6312219),
back to browsing

The Legion Sessions

  • 1. Palmistry
    2. Everything Is Moving So Fast
    3. Pulling on a Line
    4. Concrete Heart
    5. She Comes to Me in Dreams
    6. Chorus in the Underground, The
    7. Stealing Tomorrow
    8. Still
    9. New Light
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CD 308852

  • Credits
    EngineerGraham Walsh

    Audio Mixer: Graham Walsh.
    Originally released in 2009 as an iTunes EP (and reissued several months later in conjunction with Record Store Day 2010), The Legion Sessions takes its set list from a live performance at the Royal Canadian Legion Pub. At the time of its recording, Great Lake Swimmers had just put the finishing touches on Lost Channels, and they booked the Legion Pub to road-test the material in front of a small audience. The result is a "warts and all" album, at times more reminiscent of a bootleg than a polished concert recording, with moments of hesitation bumping their heads against inspired performances. The bandmates are obviously new to the material, and the songs sound a bit dry without Andy Magoffin's reverb-heavy production. Even so, the wistful, panoramic appeal of Lost Channels comes through loud and clear on these tracks, particularly "Everything Is Moving So Fast" and the heartrending "Still." Only "River's Edge" and "Unison Falling into Harmony" are missing from the bunch, and those that do make the cut are rough around the edges in an earnest, organic way that recalls the band's influences. The Legion Sessions may be imperfect, but it's nice to hear the Swimmers get their sea legs in concert. ~ Andrew Leahey

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for