CD The Phlorescent Leech & Eddie/Flo & Eddie (CD 1165276),
back to browsing

The Phlorescent Leech & Eddie/Flo & Eddie

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Flo & Eddie Theme
    2. Thoughts Have Turned
    3. It Never Happened
    4. Burn the House
    5. Lady Blue
    6. Strange Girl
    7. Who But I
    8. I Been Born Again
    9. Goodbye Surprise
    10. Nikki Hoi
    11. Really Love
    12. Feel Older Now
    13. There You Sit Lonely
    0. DISC 2:
    1. If We Only Had the Time
    2. Days
    3. You're a Lady
    4. Carlos and the Bull
    5. Afterglow
    6. Best Part of Breaking Up
    7. Sanzini Brothers, The
    8. Another Pop Star's Life
    9. Just Another Town
    10. Marmendy Mill
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MR48001

  • Credits
    ProducerHoward Kaylan; Mark Volman; Bob Ezrin; Howard Kaylan; Mark Volman; Bob Ezrin; Lisa Sutton (Reissue)
    EngineerBarry Keene; Jack Douglas; Shelly Yakus; Barry Keene; Jack Douglas; Shelly Yakus

    Personnel: Mark Volman (vocals, guitar); Howard Kaylan, John Sebastian (vocals); Barry Keene (spoken vocals); Gary Rowles (guitar); Steve Madaio (trumpet); Bob Ezrin (piano); Don Preston , John Herron (keyboards); Jim Pons (bass guitar); Aynsley Dunbar (drums); Steve Hunter (guitars).
    Audio Remasterer: Bill Inglot.
    Recording information: Ike Turners Bolic Sound, Inglewood, CA; Sunset Sound, Paramount, Los Angeles, CA; The Record Plant, New York, NY.
    Best known as the masterminds of 1960s L.A. pop kings the Turtles, Howard Kaylan and Mark Volman also recorded under their own (stage) names, Flo & Eddie, venturing in more directions than they did as sunshine-pop hitmakers. The first two Flo & Eddie albums, combined here, retain the lighthearted approach of the Turtles, delving further into the goofball humor that would become their trademark (they had, after all, just come off an anarchic stint with Frank Zappa & the Mothers), but the musical diversity is immediately apparent. Over the course of 1972's PHLORESCENT LEECH & EDDIE and the next year's self-titled album, the duo wandered everywhere from grandeur-gilded Spectorian pop to mock-Hawaiian serenades and sheer comedic weirdness, exemplifying the last flickering of the try-anything spirit that was still in the L.A. air from the hippie era.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.95) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] outstanding guitar work by Gary Rowles from Arthur Lee's post-Elektra Love."
    Q (Magazine) (p.147) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A]s California pop timepieces they possess a certain charm."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "As ever, it's those exquisite harmonies which elevate each track into the heavens..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.20
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for