CD The Platinum Collection [Roxy Music/Bryan Ferry] [CD Boxset] [3 discs] (CD 937974),
back to browsing

The Platinum Collection [Roxy Music/Bryan Ferry] [CD Boxset] [3 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Virginia Plain
    2. Pyjamarama
    3. Do the Strand
    4. Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall, A
    5. Street Life
    6. All I Want Is You
    7. "In" Crowd, The
    8. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
    9. You Go to My Head
    10. Love Is the Drug
    11. Both Ends Burning
    12. Let's Stick Together
    13. Price of Love, The
    14. This Is Tomorrow
    15. Tokyo Joe
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sign of the Times
    2. What Goes On
    3. Carrickfergus
    4. Trash
    5. Dance Away
    6. Angel Eyes
    7. Over You
    8. Oh Yeah!
    9. Same Old Scene
    10. Jealous Guy
    11. More Than This
    12. Avalon
    13. Take a Chance with Me
    14. Don't Stop the Dance
    15. Windswept
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Slave to Love
    2. Is Your Love Strong Enough?
    3. Right Stuff, The
    4. Kiss and Tell
    5. Limbo
    6. He'll Have to Go
    7. I Put a Spell on You
    8. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
    9. Girl of My Best Friend
    10. Your Painted Smile
    11. Mamouna
    12. As Time Goes By
    13. Goddess of Love
    14. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
    15. Fool for Love, A
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 71224

  • Credits
    ProducerDave Stewart; Chris Thomas
    EngineerWilbert Harrison

    Personnel: David Gilmour, Mark Knopfler, Phil Manzanera, Davy O'List (guitar); Brian Eno (keyboards, background vocals); Paul Carrack (keyboards).
    Liner Note Author: Michael Bracewell.
    Recording information: Air Studios, London, England (1973-1979); Basing St. Studios, London, England (1973-1979); London, England (1973-1979); Montreux, Switzerland (1973-1979); Phil Manzanera's Gallery Studios (1973-1979); Power Station Studios, NY (1973-1979); Rak Studios, London, England (1973-1979); Ramport Studios, Battersea, Ontario, Canada (1973-1979).
    Arranger: Bryan Ferry.
    THE PLATINUM COLLECTION, a three-disc retrospective box set that puts Roxy Music's singles alongside frontman Bryan Ferry's solo work, illustrates how Ferry's sensibility, in many ways, defined Roxy Music from the outset, and determined its subsequent direction. The compilation proves Ferry a premiere art-rock conceptualist--the success of his style-conscious presentations, his penchant for soulful grooves, and his sophisticated, often orchestral approach to composition have been borne out by his long career.
    Sequenced chronologically, THE PLATINUM COLLECTION begins with "Virginia Plain" from Roxy Music's 1972 debut and ends with Ferry's 2002 single "A Fool for Love." Even on the early glam material, Ferry's interest in American soul and R&B is apparent (see the quirky, gospel-ized version of Dylan's "Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall," his first solo single). Roxy Music's later work (FLESH & BLOOD, AVALON) continues the trend, with an increasing allegiance to romantic pop, lush productions, and smooth crooning. Ferry's solo career, which paralleled Roxy Music's almost from the beginning, reflects these tendencies, whether in choice of covers ("Smoke Gets in Your Eyes") or his memorable originals ("Slave to Love"). All told, the 45 tracks assembled here are a definitive overview of Ferry's work and a testament to his vision and achievement.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.192) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[THE] PLATINUM COLLECTION includes Roxy tunes that demonstrate this deeply skilled band's delicious development from thrashing rock to crystal-clear pop."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.06
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for