CD The Platinum Collection [Slipcase] [David Bowie] (CD 649026),
back to browsing

The Platinum Collection [Slipcase] [David Bowie]

  • 1. Jean Genie, The
    2. Space Oddity
    3. Starman
    4. Ziggy Stardust
    5. John I'm Only Dancing
    6. Rebel Rebel
    7. Let's Spend the Night Together
    8. Suffragette City
    9. Oh! You Pretty Things
    10. Velvet Goldmine
    11. Drive-in Saturday
    12. Diamond Dogs
    13. Changes
    14. Sorrow
    15. Prettiest Star, The
    16. Life on Mars
    17. Aladdin Sane
    18. Man Who Sold the World, The
    19. Rock 'N' Roll Suicide
    20. All the Young Dudes
    0. DISC 2: THE BEST OF BOWIE 1974-1979:
    1. Sound and Vision
    2. Golden Years
    3. Fame
    4. Young Americans
    5. John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)
    6. Can You Hear Me
    7. Wild Is the Wind
    8. Knock on Wood
    9. Tvc 15
    10. 1984
    11. It's Hard to Be a Saint in the City
    12. Look Back in Anger
    13. Secret Life of Arabia, The
    14. DJ
    15. Beauty and the Beast
    16. Breaking Glass
    17. Boys Keep Swinging
    18. Heroes
    0. DISC 3: THE BEST OF BOWIE 1980-1987:
    1. Let's Dance
    2. Ashes to Ashes
    3. Under Pressure
    4. Fashion
    5. Modern Love
    6. China Girl
    7. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
    8. Up the Hill Backwards
    9. Alabama Song
    10. Drowned Girl
    11. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
    12. This Is Not America
    13. Love the Alien
    14. Absolute Beginners
    15. When the Wind Blows
    16. Blue Jean
    17. Day-in Day-Out
    18. Time Will Crawl
    19. Underground
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 31304

  • Credits
    ProducerDavid Bowie; Clive Langer; David Richards; Derek Bramble; Giorgio Moroder; Gus Dudgeon; Harry Maslin; Hugh Padgham; Ken Scott; Alan Winstanley; Nile Rodgers; Pat Metheny; Queen; Arif Mardin; Tony Visconti
    EngineerHugh Padgham; Ken Scott; Bob Clearmountain

    Audio Mixers: David Bowie; Hugh Padgham; Ken Scott ; Mick Ronson; Tony Visconti; Bob Clearmountain.
    Audio Remixer: Tony Visconti.
    Arrangers: David Bowie; Mick Ronson; Paul Buckmaster.
    Diving into a new David Bowie collection is all about comfort. The listener should land somewhere between the reliable pool of radio staples like "Golden Years," "Suffragette City," and "Let's Dance" and the deep water of fan favorites like "TVC 15" and "Look Back in Anger." EMI's three-disc Platinum Collection does an awfully good job of placating fans of both reservoirs, focusing on the Thin White Duke's mercurial 1969-1987 offerings. Each disc covers an era -- 1969-1974, 1974-1979, and 1980-1987 -- allowing time for both classics ("Starman") and obscurities ("Velvet Goldmine"). The Platinum Collection gets high marks for the inclusion of oft-overlooked gems such as "All the Young Dudes" and "Wild Is the Wind," but it's the appearance of soundtrack nuggets like "When the Wind Blows," from the animated nuclear war fable of the same name, "Underground" from Labyrinth, and "Drowned Girl" from the play Baal that sets this anthology apart from others. ~ James Christopher Monger

  • Critic Reviews
    Melody Maker (11/8/97, p.50) - "...retrospective of the weird and wired world of early David the space of a few years he laid down a sonic and ideological blueprint that so many bands have since pilfered."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[S]ticking mainly to the big singles and classics....Packing in an impressive 57 gives huge value..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (2/02, p.84) - "...This neat compilation has manifest ideal point of entry..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $29.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for