CD The Police (CD 1145057),
back to browsing

The Police

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Fall Out
    2. Can't Stand Losing You
    3. Next to You
    4. Roxanne
    5. Truth Hits Everybody
    6. Hole in My Life
    7. So Lonely
    8. Message in a Bottle
    9. Reggatta de Blanc
    10. Bring on the Night
    11. Walking on the Moon
    12. Don't Stand So Close to Me
    13. Driven to Tears
    14. Canary in a Coalmine
    0. DISC 2:
    1. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
    2. Voices Inside My Head
    3. Invisible Sun
    4. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
    5. Spirits in the Material World
    6. Demolition Man
    7. Every Breath You Take
    8. Synchronicity, Pt. 1
    9. Wrapped Around Your Finger
    10. Walking in Your Footsteps
    11. Synchronicity, Pt. 2
    12. King of Pain
    13. Murder by Numbers
    14. Tea in the Sahara
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 09080

  • Credits
    ProducerStewart Copeland; Nidel Gray; Hugh Padgham

    The Police: Andy Summers, Sting, Stewart Copeland.
    Personnel: Henri Padovani (guitar); Jean Roussel (keyboards).
    Recording information: Air Studios, Montserrat (02/1977); Le Studio, Quebec, Canada (02/1977); Pathway Studios, London, England (02/1977); Surrey Sounds Studios (02/1977); Wissellord Studios, Hilversum, The Netherlands (02/1977).
    Photographers: John F. Rodgers; Norman Seeff; Jill Furmanovsky.
    Released to coincide with the Police's long-awaited 2007 reunion tour, this self-titled two-disc anthology neatly chronicles the band's progression from faux punks to New Wave avatars to pop superstars. Reconfiguring the notion of the power trio by playing less instead of more, the Police hid their technical prowess at first, clothing their pop smarts in simple, punky riffs on "Fall Out" and "Next to You." At the same time, they were pioneering the fusion of rock and reggae with such tracks as "I Can't Stand Losing You" and the mega-hit "Roxanne."
    As the collection moves along, we hear the band opening up their approach to allow in horns, keyboards, and a sophisticated pop sensibility. The Police of the smoothly textured "Wrapped Around Your Finger" are nearly unrecognizable as the same band that came raging out of the gate on "Truth Hits Everybody." This capable distillation of the Police oeuvre is a testament to their legacy-- a distinctive style that, as popular as they were, few even attempted to imitate.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.97
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for