CD The Scream [Deluxe Edition] (CD 855532),
back to browsing

The Scream [Deluxe Edition]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Pure
    2. Jigsaw Feeling
    3. Overground
    4. Carcass
    5. Helter Skelter
    6. Mirage
    7. Metal Postcard (Mittageisen)
    8. Nicotine Stain
    9. Suburban Relapse
    10. Switch
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Make up to Break Up - (Riverside Session)
    2. Love in a Void
    3. Mirage
    4. Metal
    5. Suburban Relapse
    6. Hong Kong Garden
    7. Overground
    8. Carcass
    9. Helter Skelter
    10. Metal Postcard
    11. Suburban Relpase
    12. Staircase Mystery
    13. Mirage
    14. Nicotine Stain
    15. Hong Kong Garden - (7" Single Version)
    16. Staircase Mystery - (7" Single Version)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 983 238

  • Credits

    Siouxsie & The Banshees: Siouxsie Sioux (vocals); John McKay (guitar, saxophone); Steve Severin (guitar, bass); Kenny Morris (drums).
    Producers: Steve Lillywhite/Siouxsie & The Banshees.
    Despite evolving from a group of Sex Pistols fans, Siouxsie And The Banshees eschewed the cliches of punk, offering instead an austere and bleak music. Bassist Steve Severin and drummer Kenny Morris provide simple, Teutonic-style patterns over which Siouxsie Sioux wails in the manner of former Velvet Underground chanteuse Nico. Unremitting original songs are joined by a version of the Beatles' 'Helter Skelter', which the Banshees interpret with the full knowledge of its inspiration for murderer Charles Manson. The Scream is an apt title for such desolate music.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (5/02 SE, p.141) - 3 stars out 5 - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums" - "...A voice that launched a thousand imitators..."
    Alternative Press (7/01, p.96) - Included in AP's "10 Essential Women's Rock Albums" - "...Dark, queasy-sounding psychadelic goth..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (3/03, p.76) - Ranked #20 in Mojo's "Top 50 Punk Albums" - "...The Banshees' debut had its own tense, claustrophobic atmosphere..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Much of the Banshees' debut still sounds magnificent....Siouxsie's vocal presence dominates, but every element, however rudimentary, is crucial."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.13
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for