CD The Stranger (Deluxe Edition) [Box] (CD 1314780),
back to browsing

The Stranger (Deluxe Edition) [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Movin' Out (Athony's Song )
    2. Stranger, The
    3. Just The Way You Are
    4. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
    5. Vienna
    6. Only The Good Die Young
    7. She's Always A Woman
    8. Get It Right The First Time
    9. Everybody Has A Dream
    1. Miami 2017 (Seen The Lights Go Out On Broadway) - (live)
    2. Prelude/Angy Young Man - (live)
    3. New York State Of Mind - (live)
    4. Just The Way You Are - (live)
    5. She's Got A Way - (live)
    6. Entertainer, The - (live)
    7. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant - (live)
    8. Band Introductions - (live)
    9. Captain Jack - (live)
    10. I've Loved These Days - (live)
    11. Say Goodbye To Hollywood - (live)
    12. Souvenir - (live)
    1. Stranger, The
    2. Just The Way You Are
    3. Intro
    4. Miami 2017 (Seen The Lights Go Out On Broadway)
    5. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
    6. New York State Of Mind
    7. Entertainer, The
    8. She's Always A Woman
    9. Root Beer Rag
    10. Just The Way You Are
    11. Only The Good Die Young
    12. Souvenir
    13. Ain't No Crime
    14. Documentary On The Making Of The Stranger
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697308012

  • Credits
    ProducerDon DeVito; Phil Ramone
    EngineerJim Boyer

    Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, harmonica, piano, organ, keyboards); Hiram Bullock, Steve Burgh, Steve Khan, Hugh McCracken, David Brown (guitar); Richie Cannatta (fiddle, flute, soprano & tenor saxophones, organ, keyboards); Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Richard Tee (organ); Doug Stegmeyer (bass); Liberty DeVito (drums, percussion); Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Phoebe Snow, Lani Groves, Patti Austin (background vocals).
    Recorded at A&R Recording, New York, New York.
    Composer/Lyricist: Billy Joel.
    Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, piano, Wurlitzer piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Howie Emerson (guitars); Steve Khan (acoustic 6-string guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar); Richie Cannata (flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, organ); Doug Stegmeyer (bass guitar); Liberty DeVitto (drums); Joe Malin Orchestra.
    Additional personnel: Hiram Bullock (guitars).
    Audio Remasterers: Mark Wilder; Ted Jensen.
    He's known to many as an inoffensive pop balladeer, but at the arguable peak of his career in the late '70s, Billy Joel released his darkest, most emotionally charged album. THE STRANGER abandons the grandstanding and broad melodic sweep of Joel's earlier records for a more intimate, introspective sound, effectively communicating Joel's ruminations on the perils of life and love. "Movin' Out" is something of an existentialist anthem, chronicling the way people's dreams are often irreparably crushed. The ominous-sounding title tune examines the many guises with which lovers disguise themselves in their attempts to entrap and deceive each other. "Only the Good Die Young" is hedonism at it's most iconoclastic. Even "She's Always a Woman," ostensibly a romantic piano ballad, is full of thorny, less-than-complimentary observations about its subject. Joel's emotional honesty would never be this clear-eyed and unabashed again.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here's impressive variety here: contemplative ballads...and impressionistic epics....Joel's melodic genius invites comparisons to Paul McCartney..."
    Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.113) - Ranked #67 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...The real pleasure here is the specificity of the lyrics in the rock songs located in New York..."
    Q (Magazine) (p.118) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "After four albums yielded only minor-league status, Billy JOel penned the most durable songs of his career....He was at the top of his game here."
    Blender (Magazine) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "A record where saxophones trump guitars and the piano is nearly the cradle of civilization, THE STRANGER cut against any number of grains in the era just after disco and punk had broken out..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $41.40
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for