CD Three-Part Odyssey (CD 7009170),
back to browsing

Three-Part Odyssey

  • 1. Nothing Comes to Mind
    2. Distant, Distorted, You
    3. Obtusity
    4. Breathe
    5. Pastiche
    6. Piano Phase
    7. Marruecos
    8. Maze
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): OA222079

  • Credits
    ProducerRich Pellegrin
    EngineerVincent Labelle

    Personnel: Rich Pellegrin (piano); Neil Welch (tenor saxophone); Chris Icasiano (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Vincent Labelle.
    Recording information: London Bridge Studio, Seattle, WA (07/20/2010-07/21/2010).
    Aiming specifically for a complex, dense sound on his debut album, pianist Rich Pellegrin sets out on Three-Part Odyssey to fill whole sonic landscapes, combining horns with one another for larger sounds and incorporating basslines into thicker underlying grooves. The first "part" comes across heavily, focusing on the lower end of the piano, deep bass solos, and post-bop horn arrangements courtesy of R. Scott Morning and Neil Welch. The second movement incorporates more suspense into its progression, playing lighter piano against off-kilter rhythm movements for an opening and building into a more tense, grandiose format in "Pastiche" before closing in an almost Philip Glass-like piano-and-horn tessellation. The final movement gives Pellegrin room to stretch out on piano for some impressive soloing, as well as a chance to show some nearly avant-garde collective improvisation among the players, slightly reminiscent of Albert Ayler's compositions. It's an adventurous album, especially for a debut, but Three-Part Odyssey remains true to its stated goal of density and complexity from start to end. There's never a dull moment here. ~ Adam Greenberg

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for