CD Todd Rundgren's Utopia (CD 527551),
back to browsing

Todd Rundgren's Utopia

  • 1. Utopia Theme
    2. Freak Parade
    3. Freedom Fighters
    4. Ikon, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 70865

  • Credits
    ProducerTodd Rundgren
    EngineerTodd Rundgren

    Utopia: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar); John Siegler (cello, bass); Moogy Klingman, Ralph Schuckett (keyboards); M. Frog Labat (synthesizer); John Wilcox (drums); Kevin Ellman (percussion).
    After achieving commercial success with the pop masterpiece SOMETHING/ANYTHING?, Todd Rundgren moved in a willfully experimental direction, a move that alienated some of his early fans. The culmination of this exploratory period in Rundgren's career was the formation of Utopia, originally a six-person band featuring an astounding three keyboardists.
    TODD RUNDGREN'S UTOPIA, the band's debut, is mid-'70s progressive rock in every sense, from the tricky, fusionesque keyboard solos to the extended compositions--"The Ikon" is a staggering 30 minutes long--to the sometimes oblique and ponderous lyrical preoccupations. Nevertheless, it's better than Emerson Lake and Palmer roughly to the extent that the Beatles are better than Herman's Hermits. Rundgren's songwriting talents are in full force, and even the longest pieces have a fully composed feeling that makes this much more satisfying than the aimless noodling of many prog groups. Not for pop fans, perhaps, but excellent.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.48
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for