CD Tony Furtado Band (CD 1056259),
back to browsing

Tony Furtado Band

  • 1. Waiting for Guiteau/President Garfield's Hornpipe
    2. False Hearted Lover
    3. Cypress Grove
    4. Hazel Comes Home
    5. Raleigh and Spencer
    6. Oaktown Cili
    7. Fat Fry on the Hog Farm
    8. Molly and Tenbrooks
    9. O Amante
    10. Tyson's Dream
    11. Miles Alone
    12. I Ain't Got No Home
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 60062

  • Credits
    ProducerTony Furtado; Cookie Marenco; Cookie Marenco
    EngineerCookie Marenco; Cookie Marenco

    Personnel: Tony Furtado (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, banjo, tamboura, strings); Tony Furtado; Alan Kelly (fiddle, accordion); Peter Kelan (Uilleann pipe); Rob Burger (accordion); Marc Dalio (xylophone, tambourine); Derek Jones (bass instrument, acoustic bass); Kai Eckhardt, Billy Rich (bass instrument); Todd Sickafoose (acoustic bass, double bass); Scott Amendola (drums, bass drum, shaker, percussion); Aaron Johnson , Brian "Brain" Mantia (drums); Steve Owen, Terese Taylor (background vocals); Kelly Joe Phelps (vocals); Buckethead (acoustic guitar); Ross Martin (electric guitar); Darol Anger (violin); Peter Helan (Uilleann pipe); Paul McCandless (soprano saxophone); Christian Teele, Aaron Johnston (drums); Ty Burhoe (frame drum, tabla).
    Audio Mixer: Cookie Marenco.
    Recording information: OTR Studios.
    Photographer: Fred Hayes.
    Unknown Contributor Role: Marc Dalio.
    Arranger: Tony Furtado.
    Mixing elements of Ry Cooder's American R&B pickin', Bela Fleck's bluegrass-jazz fusion, and Kelly Joe Phelps' dusty folk-Delta blues (Phelps also contributes high-profile vocals to three tracks), accomplished banjo player and guitarist Tony Furtado pushes all sorts of stylistic envelopes on this indie release. From the moody Americana of a rearranged "Raleigh and Spencer" to an album-closing version of Woody Guthrie's "I Ain't Got No Home," Furtado's vision stays focused as he peels off intricate and often lightning-fast riffs, yet never lets his obvious technical excellence overwhelm a song's melodic structure. Also impressive is the crystal-clear sound of this album, featuring an airy, uncluttered mix where all the unplugged instruments (including Darrel Anger's fiddle, tablas, Uilleann pipes, accordion, and sax) sound like they're in your room playing simultaneously. Furtado shifts from jazzy interludes to Celtic, bluegrass, and C&W styles with effortless poise, never needlessly grandstanding but keeping the spotlight on his immaculate picking and phenomenal backing musicians. As accomplished on guitar as on banjo (his primary instrument), the picker adds only what is needed to the songs, keeping them sparse yet filled with interesting twists and angles. The upbeat Leo Kottke-styled instrumental "Fat Fry on the Hog Farm" and the beautifully languid ballad "O Amante" are two of the album's six original compositions that show Furtado is as accomplished a songwriter as musician and arranger. Unpretentious and classy as its low-key cover art, this is a consistently winning album that shows off Tony Furtado's eclectic talents as master string picker, bandleader, vocalist, and composer. ~ Hal Horowitz

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for