CD Troubadours: The Essential Album (CD 977592),
back to browsing

Troubadours: The Essential Album

  • 1. Hold on Baby - J.J. Cale
    2. Everybody's Talking - Nilsson
    3. Vincent - Don McLean
    4. Time of No Reply - Nick Drake
    5. Gutters Full of Rain - David Gray
    6. New Train - John Prine
    7. Poncho and Lefty - Townes Van Zandt
    8. Another Long Story - Kevin Montgomery
    9. Sweetness - Dan Bern
    10. Tell Me Again - Ron Sexsmith
    11. Therapy - Loudon Wainwright III
    12. Song For You, A - Leon Russell
    13. Juliana - Michael Nesmith
    14. I Walk the Line - Johnny Cash
    15. Tell It Like It Is - Aaron Neville
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 207

  • Credits

    This two-CD collection features an interesting blend of singer/songwriters from Sun Records through the British folk era and ending up with the folk-techno artists of the 21st century. The artists selected seem a bit ragged (Mike Nesmith into Johnny Cash into Aaron Neville), but all of the cuts are winners. Expected troubadours Nick Drake, Ralph McTell, John Prine, and Jim Croce sidle alongside Dan Bern, Alejandro Escovido, and Billy Bragg, and although the jumps from one style to the next can be a little jarring, the theme running throughout serves as a good overview of blissfully melancholy storytelling from the last 50 years. ~ Zac Johnson

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $56.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for