CD Tubular Bells [2009 Remastered Edition] (CD 4646211),
back to browsing

Tubular Bells [2009 Remastered Edition]

  • 1. Tubular Bells, Pt. 1
    2. Tubular Bells, Pt. 2
    3. Tubular Bells (Mike Oldfield's Single)
    4. Sailor's Hornpipe [Viv Stanshall Version]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2703505

  • Credits

    Personnel: Mike Oldfield (acoustic & electric guitars, accordion, piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, organ, glockenspiel, timpani, cymbals, tambourine, triangle, tubular bells, programming); John Cleese (vocals); Sally Oldfield (background vocals).
    When the rights to Mike Oldfield's classic 1973 album returned to him in 2008, he decided to reissue the piece in an expanded form. This 2009 release features a stereo remix and some other bonus material. The work itself still astounds, a densely layered, richly textured tapestry of sound that put "minimalist" musical ideas in a pop music context, and also presaged New Age instrumentals. Years later, the album still holds up, unveiling hidden, layered delights with each listen.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (9/00, p.126) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...The most incident-packed of his '70s releases: you're never more than 2 minutes away from a crescendo or a beautiful interlude..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for