CD Uncle Meat (CD 144570),
back to browsing

Uncle Meat

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Uncle Meat: Main Title Theme
    2. Voice of Cheese, The
    3. Nine Types of Industrial Pollution
    4. Zolar Czakl
    5. Dog Breath, in the Year of the Plague
    6. Legend of the Golden Arches, The
    7. Louie Louie (At the Royal Albert Hall in London) - (At The Royal Albert Hall In London)
    8. Dog Breath Variations, The
    9. Sleeping in a Jar
    10. Our Bizarre Relationship
    11. Uncle Meat Variations, The
    12. Electric Aunt Jemima
    13. Prelude to King Kong
    14. God Bless America - (At The Whiskey A Go-Go)
    15. Pound for a Brown on the Bus, A
    16. Ian Underwood Whips It Out - (On Stage In Copenhagen)
    17. Mr. Green Genes
    18. We Can Shoot You
    19. If We'd All Been Living in California...
    20. Air, The
    21. Project X
    22. Cruisin' for Burgers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Uncle Meat Film Excerpt, Pt. 1
    2. Tengo Na Minchia Tanta
    3. Uncle Meat Film Excerpt, Pt. 2
    4. King Kong Itself
    5. King Kong II
    6. King Kong III
    7. King Kong IV
    8. King Kong V
    9. King Kong VI
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 10506/07

  • Credits
    ProducerFrank Zappa
    EngineerDick Kunc; Jerry Hansen; Jesper Hansen

    Full performer name: Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention.
    Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, percussion); Roy Estrada (vocals, bass); Jimmy Carl Black (vocals, drums); Ray Collins, Nelcy Walker (vocals); Euclid James "Motorhead" Sherwood (tenor saxophone, tambourine); Bunk Gardner (piccolo, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano, alto & tenor saxophones, bassoon); Don Preston (piano); Ian Underwood (clarinet, flute, alto & baritone saxophones, piano, organ, harpsichord, celeste); Artie Tripp (vibraphone, marimba, xylophone, drums, tympani, wood blocks, bells, chimes); Ruth Komanoff (marimba).
    Recorded from October 1967 to February 1968. Includes liner notes by Frank Zappa.
    UNCLE MEAT was digitally remixed in 1987 with approximately 40 minutes of previously unreleased material from the original sessions.
    Personnel: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion); Jim Sherwood (vocals, guitar, wind); Ray Collins (vocals, guitar); Roy Estrada (vocals, electric bass); Billy Mundi (vocals, drums); Nelly Walker (vocals); Walker, Nelcy (soprano); Ian Underwood (guitar, flute, clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, piano, celesta, harpsichord, organ, keyboards, wind); Aynsley Dunbar (guitar); Bunk Gardner (flute, piccolo, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, wind); Euclid James Sherwood (tenor saxophone, tambourine); Don Preston (electric piano, keyboards); Ruth Underwood (keyboards, percussion); Art Tripp (vibraphone, marimba, xylophone, drums, timpani, wood block, percussion, bells, chimes); Ruth Komanoff (marimba, percussion); Jimmy Carl Black (drums, percussion).
    Recording information: Copenhagen, Denmark (10/1967-02/1968); Royal Albert Hall, London, England (10/1967-02/1968); Sunset Sound, L.A., CA (10/1967-02/1968); Whisky A Go Go (10/1967-02/1968).
    Unknown Contributor Role: Bunk Gardner.
    Over the two-record set, Zappa manages to cover the entire spread of his interests. Masquerading as a movie in progress, it is a way of highlighting the struggle of trying to keep the band together against a pretty hostile, or worse, apathetic audience. The frustration of putting something out that is artistically brilliant has a particular significance, as music and film go hand in hand. The film dialogue is either hilarious or it will leave you cold. The former is the general consensus. Zappa was so far ahead that his earth life ended before we caught up with him. Weird but highly recommended.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (5/31/69, p.37) - "...a consummate piece of instrumentation, it is artistry...expertly crafted cynicism...a serious piece of music..."
    Down Beat - Recommended
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.139) - "Zappa's sixth album placed the focus on his instrumental prowess. The result is rich with his arch and artful compositions..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for