CD Under the Covers [Dwight Yoakam] (CD 616046),
back to browsing

Under the Covers [Dwight Yoakam]

  • 1. Claudette
    2. Train in Vain
    3. Tired of Waiting for You
    4. Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues
    5. Baby Don't Go
    6. Playboy
    7. Wichita Lineman
    8. Here Comes the Night
    9. Last Time, The
    10. Things We Said Today
    11. North to Alaska
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 46690

  • Credits
    ProducerPete Anderson
    EngineerDusty Wakeman; Kenneth A. Van Druten; Elijah Bradford; Mauricio Iragorri; Michael Dumas; Peter Doell

    UNDER THE COVERS is a collection of songs originally recorded by the Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Clash, Sonny & Cher, Johnny Horton and others. It contains a hidden track, "T For Texas."
    Personnel includes: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic guitar); Sheryl Crow (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Pete Anderson (electric, baritone & 12-string guitars, electric sitar); Tom Brumley (pedal steel, lap steel); Ralph Stanley (banjo, background vocals); Scott Joss (mandolin, fiddle); Tom Peterson, Bruce Eskovitz (flute, alto, tenor & baritone saxophones); Earl Lon Price (tenor saxophone); Greg Smith (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg, Chris Tedesco (trumpet); Eric Jorgensen, Nick Lane (trombone); Skip Edwards (Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards); Charles Domanico (acoustic bass); Taras Prodaniuk (acoustic & electric basses); Jim Christie, Jeff Donovan (drums); Alex Neciosup-Acuna, Tempo (percussion); Ralph Forbes, Dusty Wakeman (drum programming); Tommy Funderburk, Beth Andersen, Anthony Crawford, The Lonesome Strangers (background vocals).
    UNDER THE COVERS was nominated for a 1998 Grammy Award for Best Country Album.
    Personnel: Dwight Yoakam (vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Sheryl Crow (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Tom Brumley (lap steel guitar); Ralph Stanley (banjo, background vocals); Scott Joss (mandolin, fiddle); Earl Lon Price (tenor saxophone); Greg Smith (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg, Chris Tedesco (trumpet); Nick Lane, Eric Jorgensen (trombone); Skip Edwards (organ, keyboards); Chuck Domanico, Taras Prodaniuk (upright bass); Jeff Donovan, Jim Christie (drums); Tempo, Alex Acua (percussion); Dusty Wakeman, Ralph Forbes (drum programming); Beth Andersen, Jeff Rymes, Randy Weeks, Anthony Crawford , Tommy Funderburk (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Judy Clapp; Michael Dumas.
    Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; Mad Dog Studios; Ocean Studios.
    Photographers: Scott Lightner; Bryan Suckut; Brad Bowman.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Chuck Smith; Stephen Moore; Ross Garfield; Gary White; Chris Rugalo; Brad Bowman; Robert Glicken; Eric Bradley.
    Yoakam takes a break from making Nashville safe for sophisticated songcraft, putting down his pen and letting his hair down on this album of songs made famous by other performers. Though many of Yoakam's choices were popularized by artists firmly ensconced in the baby boomer canon (The Beatles' "Things We Said Today," Van Morrison's "Here Comes The Night"); he ventures further afield on a couple of tracks, and the element of surprise works to his advantage.
    Yoakam's reworking of the Clash's "Train In Vain" as a bluegrass lament is nothing short of inspired. Elsewhere, he dips deep into the Roger Miller catalog (never a bad idea) and comes up with "Playboy." Star-spotters will be entranced by his duet with Sheryl Crow on the Sonny & Cher chestnut "Baby Don't Go," while hardcore country enthusiasts will be more impressed by the hidden track at disc's end, a loving resurrection of Jimmie Rodgers' "T For Texas."

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (7/25/97, p.73) - "...Inspired as hell and absolutely out of control." - Rating: B
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for