CD Waiting for the Next End of the World * (CD 884511),
back to browsing

Waiting for the Next End of the World *

  • 1. To the New Mandarins
    2. Lucky Lamb
    3. Licensee, The
    4. Helen Mirren
    5. Unreal Estates
    6. Hug the Floor
    7. Mayday
    8. Chivaree
    9. $99.99
    10. New Logo
    11. Little Empires
    12. Mercury
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 151

  • Credits

    Channels: J. Robbins (vocals, various instruments); Janet Morgan (vocals, bass guitar); Darren Zentek (drums).
    Fronted by J. Robbins, formerly of Washington D.C.-based melodic hardcore darlings Jawbox and Burning Airlines, Channels finds the revered singer/guitarist/producer leading a tight ensemble rounded out by his wife, singer/bassist Janet Morgan, and drummer Darren Zentek. While the vocal interplay of Robbins and Morgan hints at that of X's John Doe and Exene Cervenka, songs themselves on this full-length 2006 debut often recall a more angular, minimal version of Jawbox, as revealed on "The Licensee," which bristles with restless post-punk energy.

  • Critic Reviews
    Magnet - "[B]raced by Robbin's ever-meaty detuned riffs and a rhythms section that has plenty of the old Jawbox snap."
    CMJ (p.37) - "If you prefer your armageddon with a side of guitar distortion, there's no need to change this channel."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for