CD Weekend Songs: Your Essential Weekend Soundtrack (CD 6963433),
back to browsing

Weekend Songs: Your Essential Weekend Soundtrack

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. She Said - Plan B
    2. Candy - Paolo Nutini
    3. I'd Rather Be With You - Joshua Radin
    4. Haven't Met You Yet - Michael Bubl
    5. Nothing Ever Hurt Like You - James Morrison
    6. 1973 - James Blunt
    7. Hollywood - Marina & the Diamonds
    8. New In Town - Little Boots
    9. Kiss Kiss - Holly Valance
    10. Pure Shores - All Saints
    11. Missing - Everything But the Girl
    12. Constant Craving - k.d. lang
    13. I Try - Macy Gray
    14. Dancing In the Moonlight - Toploader
    15. Just the Way I'm Feeling - Feeder
    16. Sewn - The Feeling
    17. You're Gorgeous - Baby Bird
    18. Something Got Me Started - Simply Red
    19. Black & Gold - Sam Sparro
    20. Cannonball - Damien Rice
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm Yours - Jason Mraz
    2. Bad Day - Daniel Powter
    3. How to Save a Life - The Fray
    4. Daydreaming - Kid Sister - (featuring Cee Lo)
    5. Before I Fall To Pieces - Razorlight
    6. Young Folks - Peter Bjorn and John - (featuring Victoria Bergsman)
    7. 5 Years Time - Noah and the Whale
    8. Boy Does Nothing, The - Alesha Dixon
    9. Untouched - The Veronicas
    10. Overload - Sugababes
    11. Love Shack - The B-52's
    12. What Can I Do - The Corrs
    13. You're So Vain - Carly Simon
    14. Chuck E's In Love - Rickie Lee Jones
    15. Easy - Faith No More
    16. Walking In Memphis - Marc Cohn
    17. Let's Go Crazy - Prince & the Revolution
    18. Stay - Shakespear's Sister
    19. Torn - Natalie Imbruglia
    20. Crazy - Seal
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Crazy - Gnarls Barkley
    2. Listen To the Music - The Doobie Brothers
    3. Lovely Day - Bill Withers
    4. Brown Eyed Girl - Van Morrison
    5. Green Onions - Booker T. & the MG's
    6. Way It is, The - Bruce Hornsby & the Range
    7. Josephine [Version Francaise] - Chris Rea
    8. (Something Inside) So Strong - Labi Siffre
    9. Kiss Me - Sixpence None the Richer
    10. Somewhere In My Heart - Aztec Camera
    11. Glorious - Andreas Johnson
    12. Young At Heart - The Bluebells
    13. One Week - Barenaked Ladies
    14. I Go To Sleep - The Pretenders
    15. Thinking of You - Sister Sledge
    16. Please Get Me What I Want - The Dream Academy
    17. She's Gone - Daryl Hall & John Oates
    18. Sea, The - Morcheeba
    19. Sweet Harmony - The Beloved
    20. Riders On the Storm [Ibizarre Remix] - The Doors (remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): WMTV137

  • Credits

    Packed full of feel-good radio-friendly tunes, Weekend Songs is the latest compilation designed to soundtrack the morning after the night before. Like similar titles Just Great Songs and Me Time, it very rarely strays from the usual Radio 2 playlist staples, but still manages to sound eclectic, taking in everything from indie pop (Razorlight) to disco (Sister Sledge) and trip-hop (Morcheeba). The usual suspects Bubl, Nutini, and Powter open the first disc, but a quick burst of girl power pop from Marina & the Diamonds and Little Boots paves the way for a more diverse track list, with the cluster of early noughties classics (All Saints, Toploader, Macy Gray) the standout tracks. The second disc ups the ante in terms of credibility, thanks to Noah and the Whale's shanty-esque "Five Years Time," Peter Bjorn and John's whistle-led "Young Folks," and the vibrant electro-pop of Kid Sister's "Daydreaming," but it's Natalie Imbruglia's colossal hit "Torn," the Fray's TV drama favorite "How to Save a Life," and Shakespear's Sister's epic "Stay" that provide the highlights. Disc three is a little more retro, featuring tracks from the '70s (Bill Withers, the Doors), '80s (Bruce Hornsby, Aztec Camera), and '90s (Faith No More, Marc Cohn), huge airplay hits from Sixpence None the Richer and Gnarls Barkley, and several less obvious inclusions from established artists (the Pretenders' "I Go to Sleep," Chris Rea's "Josephine"). With a track list covering several genres and spanning several decades, Weekend Songs proves easy listening doesn't necessarily mean MOR, and is a welcome addition to the chillout compilation market. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $47.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for