CD Whirlpool [Chapterhouse] (CD 1215140),
back to browsing

Whirlpool [Chapterhouse]

  • 1. Breather
    2. Pearl
    3. Autosleeper
    4. Treasure
    5. Falling Down
    6. April
    7. Guilt
    8. If You Want Me
    9. Something More
    10. Need
    11. Inside of Me
    12. Sixteen Years
    13. Satin Safe
    14. Rain
    15. Feel the Same
    16. Come Heaven
    17. In My Arms
    18. Die Die Die
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 304

  • Credits

    Chapterhouse: Andrew Sherriff, Stephen Patman (vocals, guitars), Simon Rowe (guitars), Russell Barrett (bass), Ashley Bates (drums).
    Additional personnel: Rachel Goswell (background vocals).
    Producers: Chapterhouse, Ralph Jezzard, Robin Guthrie.
    All songs written by members of Chapterhouse.
    Victim of a double whammy -- caught in the already building backlash to the shoegazer scene at home and completely ignored in the States, as was just about anything else British -- once Nevermind and Ten hit the charts Chapterhouse's album debut could have, and should have, won a bigger name for itself. At once more dance-flirting and garage-punky than most recordings by other My Bloody Valentine obsessives that emerged in the early '90s, though suffering the same underplaying in the vocal department, Whirlpool builds nicely on the three earlier EP releases with a similar sense of "what the hey -- if it works, try it." As an album, it doesn't per se connect as a unified piece -- the final track listing comes from a variety of recording sessions with a large number of producers and remixers, including Robin Guthrie, Stephen Hague, John Fryer, and Ralph Jezzard. As a collection of mostly killer tracks, though, this is mighty fine. "Breather" kicks it off with a rushing shudder that mixes its acoustic and electric guitars well, while "Pearl" throws in trancey beats, John Bonham samples, and some fine art-glazed feedback riffs to create as perfect a nugget of the era as any. "Falling Down" has similar heavy-groove action to it, Madchester as played by Loop. Other highlights are more strictly rocky, like the slow-build/rave-up/freak-out/repeat "Autosleeper" and "April," with a big guitar wash up and out through the length of the song. A gentler version of early track "Something More" closes the album well; the overall effect is strong promise for whatever would come next. ~ Ned Raggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.110) - "With sounds stacked up like Jenga pieces and gorgeous vocals..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.65
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for