CD Wolfroy Goes to Town [Bonnie "Prince" Billy] (CD 15791295),
back to browsing

Wolfroy Goes to Town [Bonnie "Prince" Billy]

  • 1. No Match
    2. New Whaling
    3. Time To Be Clear
    4. New Tibet
    5. Black Captain
    6. Cows
    7. There Will Be Spring
    8. Quail and Dumplings
    9. We Are Unhappy
    10. Night Noises
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 502

  • Credits

    Personnel: Shahzad Ismaily (vocals, guitar, percussion); Ben Boye (vocals, electric piano, pump organ, synthesizer); Angel Olsen (vocals); Emmett Kelly (guitar); Van Campbell (drums, percussion).
    Audio Mixers: Will Oldham; Shahzad Ismaily; Emmett Kelly.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.68) - "Most of the record crawls by quietly, like a wary hunter."
    Magnet (p.52) - "WOLFROY GOES TO TOWN is a meditative and sparse collection....On tracks like 'We Are Unhappy,' he still sees a darkness."
    The Wire (p.56) - "Oldham orbits a remarkably consistent sonic and lyrical solar system -- a Kentucky Kierkegaard for the mildly melancholy..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "WOLFROY GOES TO TOWN quietly features some sterling additions to Oldham's songbook. Album centerpiece 'Black Captain' recalls vintage Palace material in its musical economy..."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.81) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[U]ncharacteristically respectful of the traditional country and hushed folk idioms that make it up."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.10
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for