CD You Raise Me Up: The Essential Collection (CD 6289545),
back to browsing

You Raise Me Up: The Essential Collection

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. You Raise Me Up - Westlife
    2. If Tomorrow Never Comes - Ronan Keating
    3. Unchained Melody - Il Divo
    4. You're Beautiful - Marc Dillon
    5. I Have a Dream - ABBA
    6. Impossible Dream, The - Rhydian
    7. This Time - Dame Shirley Bassey
    8. Lifted - Lighthouse Family
    9. Closest Thing to Crazy - Katie Melua
    10. Hallelujah - Katherine Jenkins
    11. How Can I Keep from Singing? - Faryl Smith
    12. Bridge Over Troubled Waters - Russell Watson
    13. Both Sides Now - Hayley Westenra
    14. Ave Maria - The Priests
    15. Fields of Gold - Triniti
    16. Don't Dream It's Over - Donny Osmond
    17. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, The - Alison Moyet
    18. Wind Beneath My Wings - Michael Ball
    19. Rose, The - Bryn Terfel
    20. What a Wonderful World - Louis Armstrong
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'll Stand by You - Girls Aloud
    2. Up Where We Belong - Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes
    3. Home - Shane Hampsheir
    4. Love Is All Around - Marti Pellow
    5. Angel - Sarah McLachlan
    6. Evergreen - Will Young
    7. Blowin' in the Wind - All Angels
    8. Amazing Grace - Hayley Westenra
    9. Everlasting Love - Jamie Cullum
    10. Come Away with Me - Melissa Elliotte
    11. I Dreamed a Dream - Teatro
    12. Amore Sei Tu [I Will Always Love You], L' - Katherine Jenkins
    13. Angels - Only Men Aloud
    14. Prayer, The - Faryl Smith
    15. Anything for You - Gloria Estefan
    16. I Wanna Know What Love Is - Gloria Estefan
    17. Over the Rainbow - Eva Cassidy
    18. With You I'm Born Again - Engelbert Humperdinck
    19. Lean on Me - Chantz
    20. You'll Never Walk Alone - Lesley Garrett
  • Credits

    You Raise Me Up: The Essential Collection is a double-disc compilation of uplifting songs, some of them bona fide hits, others of familiar material, marketed toward British mothers and released around the time of Mother's Day. There's a curious mix of material on the 40-track compilation. Though most of it is British, there's a bit of international music sequenced now and then -- take, for instance, Louis Armstrong's "What a Wonderful World," Sarah Mclachlan's "Angel," and Gloria Estefan's "Anything for You" -- and a good mix of male and female vocalists. Highlights of the first disc include Westlife's "You Raise Me Up," Ronan Keating's "If Tomorrow Never Comes," and the Priests' "Ave Maria." Highlights of the second disc include Girls Aloud's "I'll Stand by You," Will Young's "Evergreen," and Jamie Cullum's "Everlasting Love." While there are some bona fide hit singles on the album such as the aforementioned highlights, a majority of the tracks are run-of-the-mill renditions of familiar standards sung by British pop vocalists. That doesn't mean that the non-hit material is necessarily bad. Rather, it's something of a bummer to hear well-known singers performing material other than their best. In any event, You Raise Me Up: The Essential Collection fulfills its billing as an economical collection of feel-good music that makes for a passable, if far from ideal Mother's Day, gift so long as your mother doesn't have left-of-center or high-brow taste. ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $36.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for