CD You Won't Be Happy with Me (CD 6300730),
back to browsing

You Won't Be Happy with Me

  • 1. Demons
    2. Liv Tyler
    3. Jail
    4. Everything
    5. Heart
    6. End of the Day
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 11

  • Credits
    EngineerRich Zilg; Daniel Schlett

    Lyricist: John Gleason.
    Personnel: Jeremy Benson (vocals, electric guitar, violin, harmonium); John Gleason (vocals); Rich Zilg (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Johnny Piatkowski (piano, Mellotron); Colin Ryan (drums, bells).
    Audio Mixer: Daniel Schlett.
    On the Garden State Parkway, Metuchen, NJ, home of the Roadside Graves, is about 30 miles north of Freehold, home of Bruce Springsteen, but on the band's 2010 EP You Won't Be Happy with Me, the distance seems shorter. Singer/lyricist John Gleason leads his band through some distinctly Springsteen-like songs here, notably the seven-minute, multi-part "Liv Tyler." Gleason's lyrics are simpler and more repetitive than Springsteen's, and his wheezy tenor is more of a cross between Bono and Thom Yorke. But the guitars of Rich Zilg and Jeremy Benson have a familiar ringing sound, and Johnny Piatkowski's keyboards occupy the same place in the arrangements as those of Roy Bittan and the late Danny Federici in the E Street Band. On this six-song, 23-minute disc, acoustic numbers alternate with the Springsteenian rockers, notably "Heart," on which guest singer Debra Disbrow takes lead vocals over an acoustic guitar. But the band's rock & roll ambitions are clear, even in this small sample. ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for