CD Your Love and Other Lies/Poison Love * (CD 16020425),
back to browsing

Your Love and Other Lies/Poison Love *

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. You Wrecked Up My Heart
    2. Don't Listen to the Wind
    3. That's How I Got to Memphis
    4. I'm Pretending
    5. Through the Eyes of a Broken Heart
    6. I Don't Mean Maybe
    7. Hold on My Love
    8. Hole in My Head
    9. Watching Amy Dance
    10. I Can't Slow Down
    11. My Love Will Follow You
    12. You're Running Wild
    13. Girl Like You, A
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Nothing Can Stop Me
    2. 100 Million Little Bombs
    3. Don't Tell Me
    4. Poison Love
    5. Baby Don't Let Me Down
    6. Love Grows Wild
    7. Love in the Ruins
    8. Draggin' the River
    9. Help Wanted
    10. That's How Strong My Love Is
    11. Lonesome for You
    12. I Can't Help It
    13. Love Snuck Up
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): FLOATM 6132

  • Credits
    ProducerBuddy Miller
    EngineerMark Kirchner; Cory Verbin; Stuart Sullivan; Ben Blank; Buddy Miller

    Recording information: Arlyn Studios, Austin; Ben Blank Studios, Austin; Digidesign HitHut, Menlo Park; Dogtown Studios; Paramount Studios, Los Angeles, CA; The Production Block, Austin.
    Photographer: Michael Wilson .
    Buddy Miller is a woefully unsung songwriter, singer, guitarist, producer, and master of the small home studio, and his sparse, direct, and no-frills approach to country and roots music gives his best work a timeless authenticity that is unfortunately missing in a lot of what passes for country music on the contemporary airwaves in the 21st century. This two-disc set combines Miller's first two albums for Hightone Records, 1995's Your Love and Other Lies and 1997's Poison Love, both of which are excellent outings that fit together seamlessly with each other, one blending into the other, maybe because both were recorded largely in Miller's living room. Things don't sound lesser for that, though, and these tracks are well recorded, with a warm, dusty, but still very clear sound. Highlights on Your Love include a wonderful cover of the Louvin Brothers' "You're Running Wild," helped to shine by vocal harmonies from his wife Julie Miller, who also wrote one of the best songs on the album, the beautiful and haunting "Don't Listen to the Wind." Among Poison Love's highlights are two songs the couple co-wrote, "Draggin' the River" and "Lonesome for You" ("I'm not lonely, I'm just lonesome for you" goes the song's chorus, a brilliant piece of melodic and lyrical simplicity). Miller may have no interest in the hats, glitter, and flash of contemporary Nashville, and that's no doubt a good thing, but it's also the reason this superb singer and guitarist is so little known outside of musician circles. He should be. ~ Steve Leggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (magazine) (p.95) - "[A] punchy collection of country stompers that hark back to '60s honky-tonk but with the contemporary production sheen of, say, Dwight Yoakam and Steve Earle."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for