CD Zappa in New York (CD 144574),
back to browsing

Zappa in New York

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Titties and Beer
    2. Cruisin' For Burgers - (previously unreleased)
    3. I Promise Not to Come in Your Mouth
    4. Punky's Whips
    5. Honey, Don't You Want a Man Like Me?
    6. Legend of the Illinois Enema Bandit, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I'm the Slime - (previously unreleased)
    2. Pound For a Brown on the Bus, A - (previously unreleased)
    3. Manx Needs Woman
    4. Black Page Drum Solo / Black Page Number 1
    5. Big Leg Emma
    6. Sofa
    7. Black Page
    8. Torture Never Stops, The - (previously unreleased)
    9. Purple Lagoon / Approximate
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 10524/25

  • Credits
    ProducerFrank Zappa

    Personnel includes: Frank Zappa (guitar, vocals); Michael Brecker (saxophone); Randy Brecker (trumpet); Terry Bozzio (drums).
    Many Zappa aficionados consider his backing band on the 1978 live release ZAPPA IN NEW YORK to be one of his finest. After all, the group included future Missing Persons/UK drummer Terry Bozzio, Jethro Tull/Roxy Music/UK keyboardist/violinist Eddie Jobson and a fantastic horn section that would gain notoriety in the Saturday Night Live house band (The Brecker Brothers), among others. Although the concert was recorded during a multi-night stand at New York's Palladium in December of 1976, the album's release was held up by Warner Bros. because of their objection to the homo-erotic track "Punky's Whips." Eventually the track was dropped, but was included on the Rykodisc 1991 re-issue, which also featured three other tracks not on the original version.
    Surprises abound on ZAPPA IN NEW YORK, such as a cameo by Saturday Night Live announcer Don Pardo, who introduces the aforementioned "Punky's Whips" and other tracks. Fans of technically complex rock will surely love the epics "Black Page (Parts One and Two)" and the lengthy album closer "The Purple Lagoon/Approximate." Zappa manages to inject some of his trademark humor throughout the proceedings--look no further than the unbelievable true story of "The Illinois Enema Bandit" and the album opener, "Titties & Beer."

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (8/95, pp.150-151) - 3 Stars - Good - "...offers extended highlights of the Mothers' Christmas 1976 concerts, a typical mix of virtuosity and vulgarity..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for