CD Domo 10th Anniversary Collection (CD 1071348),
back to browsing

Domo 10th Anniversary Collection

    1. Daichi - Kitaro
    2. Starting on a Journey - Yoshida Brothers
    3. Desire - Stephen Deruby
    4. Sleeping Woman - Luis Perez
    5. New Moon - Luis Villegas
    6. Peace Through Kindness - Nawang Khechog
    7. Sicilienne - Classics for the Heart
    8. Fisherman's Cancion - Randy Armstrong
    9. Dark Passage - Dave Eggar
    10. Paper in the Air, A - Agatsuma
    11. Mediterranean Sunrise - Benedetti & Svoboda
    12. Flying Celestial Nymphs - Yuan Xiaogang
    13. Sympathy - Toshiyuki Honda
    14. Cautionary Tale - Alex Wurman
    15. Planet - Kitaro
    16. Theme for Earthdance - Kitaro (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 73040

  • Credits
    ProducerDino Malito (Compilation)

    Domo 10th Anniversary Collection celebrates the Los Angeles-based imprint with 16 selections spanning its entire roster. New age vet Kitaro is the label's senior artist, and he gets the pole position here. Opener "Daichi" (from his 2002 Domo release An Ancient Journey) is an epic sweep of synthesizers and traditional instruments, while the gentle "Planet" is almost an interlude at just over two minutes. Meanwhile, the previously unreleased "Theme for Earthdance" features light percussion and a melody that mixes warm strings with a spacey keyboard effect for a feeling in between wistfulness and hope. Randy Armstrong's "Fisherman's Cancion" is a contemplative solo instrumental piece for acoustic guitar, and Fred Benedetti and George Svoboda interpret a "Mediterranean Sunrise" in breezy contemporary flamenco. But while pianist Dave Eggar's "Dark Passage" is definitely moody, it's too brief to make much of an impression on a compilation. Likewise, Agatsuma's "Paper in the Air" features some finger-knotting runs on the shamisen, the three-stringed Japanese instrument on which he is a master. But the track's synthesizer backgrounds are too vague, and don't suggest the experimentation found on Agatsuma's 2003 LP Beams. Tibetan musician Nawang Khechog makes more of an impression with "Peace Through Kindness," where intricate vocal harmonies mix with traditional woodwinds over an atmospheric percussive background. Luis Villegas' "New Moon" is also strong with its bright, highly melodic take on Latin guitar. Other Domo 10th Anniversary highlights include "Cautionary Tale," a jazzy outtake from Alex Wurman's score for Confessions of a Dangerous Mind; and a piece from Japan's Yoshida Brothers, whose own interpretive powers on the shamisen bring the instrument into the 21st century. Their "Starting on a Journey" is an interesting mix of shamisen, piano, and graceful Japanese melody. ~ Johnny Loftus

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.63
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for