CD On Trace La Route [Bonus DVD] [Digipak] (CD 6897940),
back to browsing

On Trace La Route [Bonus DVD] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Dingue, Dingue, Dingue
    2. J'ai Laiss
    3. Pourquoi C'est Beau...
    4. J'ai Vu La Vie
    5. Nature
    6. On Trace La Route
    7. La Rumeur
    8. Je Me Lche
    9. Ne M'abandonne Pas
    10. Donald Dans Les Docks
    11. Manon
    12. [Cd-Rom Track]
    0. DISC 2:
    1. On Trace La Route [En Studio]
    2. Le Film De La Sance Photo Au Sngal
    3. Dingue Dingue Dingue [Le Clip]
    4. Dingue Dingue Dingue [Le Making of Du Clip]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 68285

  • Credits

    Recording information: Studio Apollo; Studio Haxo.
    Photographer: Bernard Benant.
    On Trace la Route, the eagerly awaited follow-up to Christophe Ma's smash breakout hit Mon Paradis (2007), follows in the same direction as its predecessor, and though it lacks that album's easygoing charm, it's an outstanding effort that should delight the singer/songwriter's legion of fans. During the past few years, no one was more successful in the French pop world than Ma, who was showered with NRJ Music Awards for three straight years. He brought home French Revelation of the Year in 2007, and then won both French Male Artist of the Year and French Song of the Year for two years straight in 2008 and 2009. Ma was not only acclaimed as French pop's brightest new star; he was a commercial juggernaut. Mon Paradis spawned several hits, most notably the chart-topper "On S'attache," and the live album Comme la Maison (2008) kept him riding high on the charts with a couple more singles. It wasn't until 2009, after two straight years of non-stop airplay, that Ma stepped out of the media spotlight for a while to work on On Trace la Route. He reassembled much of the team that had worked with him on Mon Paradis, including producer Volodia and songwriters Michel Domisseck, Lionel Florence, and Bruno Dandrimont. Multi-instrumentalist Felipe Saldivia was also a key participant in the making of On Trace la Route. The end result of their teamwork is a solid batch of 11 songs in the same mold as those on Mon Paradis. Like that album, this one boasts a handful of flat-out great songs. "Dingue, Dingue, Dingue" and "J'ai Laiss," the first and second single spawned by the album, get it off to a perfect start. Then, after a few lackluster songs that dampen the excitement sparked by the first couple, the standout eighth and ninth songs, "Je Me Lche" and "Ne M'abandonne Pas," revitalize the album as it nears its conclusion. As for Ma himself, he doesn't sound as carefree and unburdened by fame as he did on Mon Paradis. An unfortunate air of pretension hovers over On Trace la Route, and while some of that surely comes along with the great expectations heaped upon the album, one can't escape the sense that Ma has been affected by the incredible success of the past couple years, and not for the better. ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.73
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for