CD 5,000 Miles [Digipak] (CD 1151241), Audio Other
back to browsing

5,000 Miles [Digipak]

  • 1. Da Fonk
    2. 5000 Miles
    3. Six Beauties of a Rooftop
    4. Sisters of Arequipa
    5. In a Fonky Mood
    6. Stop By
    7. Roxane
    8. Professor Longhair
    9. Venus as a Boy
    10. Nasty
    11. Glen & Steve
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 92712

  • Credits
    ProducerSiegfried Loch; Nils Landgren Funk Unit
    EngineerJan Ugand

    Personnel: Nils Landgren (vocals, trombone); Magnum Coltrane Price (vocals, Fender Rhodes piano); Per Rusktrask Johannsson (saxophone); Roy Hargrove, Till Brooner (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tim Hagans (trumpet); Fred Wesley (trombone); Esbjorn Svensson (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); Dan Berglund (bass); Janne Robertson (drums); Don Alias (percussion).
    Recorded between 1998 & 1999.
    Nils Landgren Funk Unit, led by its Swedish trombonist namesake, deal in a brand of jazzy funk that harks back to the 1970s, drawing influence in equal parts from P-Funk and Roy Ayers. On 1999's 5000 MILES, the septet, joined by many a horn icon, winds its way around a wide variety of themes and soundscapes. Roy Hargrove fills out the infectious "Da Fonk" while fellow trumpeter Tim Hagans's solo lends an air of chaos to the chilling title track. The combo continue to change it up throughout the record, switching from sultry R&B to bluesy reggae to a splash of standards with ease on a diverse album.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.47
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for