CD Bill Haney's Atlanta Soul Brotherhood (CD 4448882), Audio Other
back to browsing

Bill Haney's Atlanta Soul Brotherhood

  • 1. I'm a Dreamer - Bobby "Bobby Burn" Wilburn, Jr.
    2. Something Wrong with Our Love - Joe Graham
    3. I've Been Blessed by Your Love - Al Christian (previously unreleased)
    4. Got My Plans Squared Away - Randolph Walker (previously unreleased)
    5. Devil - Dino & Doc (previously unreleased)
    6. You Better Listen to Me - Arthur Alexander (previously unreleased)
    7. Pride and Soul - Gary Allen
    8. Something I Ain't Never Had - Jarvis Jackson
    9. Come Back Son - Jerry Woodard (previously unreleased)
    10. Like the Wind - Dee Clark (previously unreleased)
    11. Don't Let Me Know - Charlie Thomas (previously unreleased)
    12. Who Are You Fooling - Joe Graham (previously unreleased)
    13. Frozen Love - Gay Meadows & the Yobyalps
    14. Sweet Sweet Woman - Jerry Woodard
    15. I Know - Dino & Doc (previously unreleased)
    16. Workin' on a New Love - Milton Marlin
    17. Steppin' Stone - Joe Graham (previously unreleased)
    18. Achin' All Over - Randolph Walker
    19. What You Don't Know - Jarvis Jackson
    20. You Got Love - The Five Jays
    21. Nothing's Going to Change the Way I Feel - Al Christian
    22. Hurt Girl, A - Dino & Doc (previously unreleased)
    23. Do Me Wrong - Randolph Walker
    24. My Peaceful Forest - Roy Hamilton (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 159

  • Credits
    ProducerAdy Croasdell (Compilation)

    Performers include: Arthur Alexander, Roy Hamilton, Dee Clark, Randolph Walker, Jarvis Jackson, Joe Graham.
    Contains 24 tracks.
    Bill Haney was an all-around entrepreneur -- producer, label owner, occasional songwriter -- whose Down South Productions generated a bunch of soul recordings in the 1960s and early '70s. Some were released on his own Chant label, some were leased to other companies, and some were unreleased. This 24-song compilation combines all of the above categories; indeed, half of it was previously unreissued. It's acceptable period Southern soul, varying from sweet romantic stuff to gritty son-of-Otis Redding-or-James Brown tunes, but it doesn't stand up to even the better unknown soul of the era. The only names familiar to general fans are Dee Clark, Roy Hamilton, and Arthur Alexander, all represented by unreleased songs, none recorded when the artists were at their peaks; Alexander's tune, "You Better Listen to Me," is nice but way too derivative of his famous "You Better Move On." The same lack of originality afflicts even the better cuts on this collection. Jarvis Jackson's "Something I Ain't Never Had," for instance, is a cop (and a rather good one) of the style Otis Redding used on "I've Been Loving You Too Long," and Stax-y riffs also surface on things like the Dino & Doc male-female duets. A less clichd source was plundered for Charlie Thomas' "Don't Let Me Know," whose melody is uncomfortably similar to Gerry & the Pacemakers' "Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying." ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for