CD Eccentric Soul: The Young Disciples * (CD 1354765), Audio Other
back to browsing

Eccentric Soul: The Young Disciples *

  • 1. World Is Changing, The
    2. Crumbs from the Table
    3. Third Flight
    4. Tears
    5. Checking Myself
    6. I'm Not Afraid of Love
    7. Anyone or Anything
    8. Girls Girls Girls
    9. I Love You
    10. Hard Hard
    11. Country Loving Country Style
    12. It's Not Your Business
    13. People
    14. Would You Rather
    15. Love Love Love
    16. Choose Me
    17. Outside of Memphis
    18. That's a Good Reason
    19. I'm Your Man
    20. Bang Bang Bang
    21. Homeboy
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 641023

  • Credits
    ProducerTom Lunt (Reissue); Rob Sevier (Reissue); Ken Shipley (Reissue)

    Personnel: Oswald Peters, Waddey Williams, Ernest Johnson & the Western Night Riders, Gus Thornton (guitar); Tyrone Perry, Kay Williams, Willie Perry, Dennis Cosby (reeds); John "Snakehips" Johnson, Albert Hamilton (brass); Bruce Dennis, Donnie Lewis, Michael James Moore (percussion); Linda M. Smith, Elijah Harris (dancer).
    Liner Note Authors: Tom Lunt; Rob Sevier; Ken Shipley; Judson Picco.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Dennis Clark; Dauphin Williams; Larry Andrew Williams; Richard K. Hancock; Sharon Clark; William Hampton; Keith Staten; Renee Smith; Michael Leigh.
    Though there are currently dozens of small labels dedicated to unearthing and reissuing forgotten soul recordings from the `60s and `70s, few of them can compete with Chicago's Numero label, whose ECCENTRIC SOUL releases serve not just as fine collections of rare soul, but as miniature history lessons that throw light on forgotten corners of the American experience. Where previous ECCENTRIC SOUL volumes have documented the vibrant independent soul scenes that flourished in Miami, Chicago, and Detroit, THE YOUNG DISCIPLES album collects the output of St Louis' Merry and Gateway labels. The Young Disciples band accompanies talented and heretofore unknown young singers like LaVel Moore and Dauphin Jackson on a series of sides ranging from hard driving southern funk to impassioned torch songs.

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "This 21-track selection is testament to the power of the music workshop; highpoints include The Debonettes' 'Tears,' a pulsating tight funk blast..."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.97) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "This time, this fantastic series focuses on the YoDi, Gateway and Merry labels running out of East St Louis, Illinois, and comes up trumps once more with a blistering 21-track selection spanning 1966 to '72."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for