CD Gold [Traffic] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 857946), Audio Other
back to browsing

Gold [Traffic] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Paper Sun
    2. Dealer
    3. Coloured Rain
    4. Hole in My Shoe
    5. No Face, No Name, No Number
    6. Heaven Is in Your Mind
    7. Smiling Phases
    8. Dear Mr. Fantasy
    9. You Can All Join In
    10. Pearly Queen
    11. Feelin' Alright
    12. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
    13. Forty Thousand Headmen
    14. Shanghai Noodle Factory
    15. Medicated Goo
    16. Glad
    17. Freedom Rider
    18. Empty Pages
    19. John Barleycorn
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Gimme Some Lovin' - (live)
    2. Low Spark of High-Heeled Boys
    3. Light up and Leave Me Alone
    4. Rock and Roll Stew
    5. Rainmaker
    6. Shoot Out at the Fantasy Factory
    7. Uninspired, (Sometimes I Feel So)
    8. Something New
    9. Dream Gerrard
    10. Walking in the Wind
    11. When the Eagle Flies
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0005011

  • Credits
    ProducerJimmy Miller; Steve Winwood; Chris Blackwell; Traffic; Bill Levenson (Compilation)

    Traffic: Dave Mason (vocals, guitar, sitar, Mellotron, bass guitar, tambora); Chris Wood (vocals, flute, saxophone, organ, percussion); Steve Winwood (vocals, piano, harpsichord, organ, bass guitar, percussion); Jim Capaldi (vocals, drums, percussion); Rick Grech (violin, bass instrument); David Hood, Rosko Gee (bass instrument); Jim Gordon , Roger Hawkins (drums); Rebop Kwaku Baah (congas, bongos, timbales).
    Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
    Although there are a few Traffic compilations on the market, this 2005 two-disc set, puts them to shame, with 30 essential tracks that span the British band's initial run from 1967-1974. (Core members Steve Winwood and Jim Capaldi revived the Traffic name briefly in the 1990s.) From the Eastern-tinged psychedelic rock of "Paper Sun" and "Hole in My Shoe" to the R&B-leaning pop of "Something New" and the soul jam of "Dream Gerrard," all of the group's finest songs are here.
    The work done between '68 and '71 is Traffic's most enduring legacy. During these years, when the ensemble wasn't breaking up or shifting personnel, they melded folk, jazz, and rock into a brilliant amalgam. The key elements of group--Winwood's plaintive vocals and melodic organ lines, Capaldi's tight drumming, and Chris Wood's dynamic woodwind embellishments--are present throughout this excellent collection, which is a must for anyone seeking a thorough overview of Traffic.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.49
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for