CD Helter Skelter: The Sound of Hardcore 2009 [Box] (CD 4674899), Audio Other
back to browsing

Helter Skelter: The Sound of Hardcore 2009 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. In the Heat of the Night - Star Pilots (Dougal & Gammer Remix, remix)
    2. Can't Get Over [Sy & Al Storm Remix] - (remix)
    3. Memory - (CLSM Remix, remix)
    4. Every Now and Then [Mike Modulate Remix] - (remix)
    5. Blame It on You [Slipmatt, Billy 'Daniel' Bunter & Mike Modulate Remix] - (remix)
    6. 24/7 - (Squad E Remix, remix)
    7. La La La La La [Mike Modulate Remix] - Karen Danzig/Sound Selektaz (remix)
    8. Keep on Trying
    9. Every Little Thing [Darwin & Entity Remix] - Body Grooverz (remix)
    10. Until I Die
    11. Make It on My Own [Modulate & Petruccio Mix] - Dana Rayne (remix)
    12. When I See You - Marie Louise
    13. Every Day - Alison Wade/Sound Selektaz (Sparky Remix, remix)
    14. Don't Go - (Gammer Remix, remix)
    15. Getting Hi - Brisk & Ham (Scott Brown Remix, remix)
    16. Right the Night
    17. Through the Darkness [Exclusive 2009 Album Remix] - Micky Skeedale (remix)
    18. Don't Leave Me Now [Exclusive 2009 Album Remix] - (remix)
    19. Tears Fall [Slipmat & Mike Modulate Remix] - (remix)
    20. Don't Wanna Go - Marie Louise
    21. I'll Wait - Niki Mak/Himbo
    22. Under Your Spell
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Take Me Away - (2009 Remix, remix)
    2. Ease the Pressure [Rampant Remix] - The Flashback Project/Angie Brown (remix)
    3. On a Ragga Tip 2009 [Slipmatt & Mike Modulate Remix] - SL2 (remix)
    4. Ride Like the Wind 2009
    5. Sing It Louder - Donna Grassie/Hard & Soul/Lisa Abbott
    6. Everybody Wants to Be a DJ
    7. Just Dance [Slipmatt, Billy 'Daniel' Bunter & Sparky Remix] - (remix)
    8. Waiting for the Night - Erire (Billy 'Daniel' Bunter & Sparky Remix, remix)
    9. Show Me Love [Billy 'Daniel' Bunter, Slipmatt & Mike Modulate Remix] - Mobin Master/Robin S. (remix)
    10. Breaking Free 2009 [Slipmatt & Mike Modulate Remix] - Slipmatt (remix)
    11. Who's F**ked
    12. Press Play on the Tape (& Play with My Joystick)
    13. Turn Up the Music [Marc Smith & Al Storm Remix] - (remix)
    14. Terminator - (Recon Remix, remix)
    15. Infinity 2008 [Adam Harris Mix] - Guru Josh Project (remix)
    16. Wasteland - Lucia Holm (CLSM Remix, remix)
    17. Body Slam - (Billy 'Daniel' Bunter & Sparky Remix, remix)
    18. Music Came First - Joey Riot
    19. Get Busy
    20. Rudeboy Sounds
    21. Hardcore Heaven 2009 - (Remix, remix)
    22. Bomb Scared 2009 - Top Vibe
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7502702

  • Credits
    ProducerMicky Skeedale; DJ Slipmatt; Joakim Udd; Mark Coupe; Daniel Light; Paul Clarke; J.J. Fernandez; Fred McFarlane; Andy Littlewood; Alex Ridge; Guru Josh; Frank Knebel; Al Storm; M.J. Nelson; D. Light; P. Nineham; Allen George; Joe Doe; Jonas Von Der Burg; Oswald Palmer; Joey Riot
    EngineerJoakim Udd; Mark Coupe; Oswald Palmer

    Personnel: Alison Wade, Dan Armstrong, Angie Brown (vocals); Jonas Von Der Burg (keyboards, programming); Petra Marklund, Jeanette Von Der Burg (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Slipmatt; Billy "Daniel" Bunter.
    Audio Remixers: Slipmatt; Mark Coupe; Al Storm; Joey Riot.
    Liner Note Author: Billy "Daniel" Bunter.
    Arranger: Joakim Udd.
    One of several U.K. hardcore compilation mixes co-presented by rave promoters Helter Skelter and Raindance and released on the Ministry of Sound label, The Sound of Hardcore 2009 is a double-disc album featuring 44 tracks mixed by DJs Billy "Daniel" Bunter and Slipmatt. While fans of contemporary hardcore (which, for those unfamiliar with the U.K. scene, is an amalgam of arbitrarily named subgenre styles such as happy hardcore, hard house, trancecore, and so on) are sure to enjoy this album to one degree or another, this often-berated style of music isn't everyone's cup of tea, to put it kindly, and isn't recommended to anyone not already in the scene. As is typical for U.K. hardcore mixes like this, the tracks are remixed more often than not, and with the exception of numerous tracks credited to Bunter and Slipmatt, the producers are generally obscure, even to those in the scene. It's difficult to single out highlights, as so many of these tracks sound more or less the same with their pummeling beats, jackhammer rhythms, and D.I.Y. production standards, and there aren't any hits per se. In the end, The Sound of Hardcore 2009 is likely to appeal to fans of previous Ministry of Sound releases associated with Helter Skelter and Raindance and mixed by Bunter and Slipmatt and, by the same token, is unlikely to win over those critical of the youth-oriented style and its insular scene. ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.59
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for