CD Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas 1947-1951 [Box] (CD 7023312), Audio Other
back to browsing

Houston Might Be Heaven: Rockin' R&B in Texas 1947-1951 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Little Willie's Boogie - Little Willie Littlefield
    2. My Best Wishes
    3. Got a Feelin' You're Foolin' - Blip Thompkins
    4. Everything's Been Done Before
    5. Hattie Green
    6. I Cried
    7. Jelly Roll
    8. Louisiana Boogie
    9. Goin' Down to Nashville
    10. Oo Wee Baby - Carlo Campbell
    11. In a Boogie Moon
    12. She's So Fine
    13. Jumpin' the Blues
    14. Your Little Girl Is Gone
    15. Love's a Gamble
    16. Christmas Blues - Little T-Bone
    17. Far Away Blues
    18. Fly Chick Bounce
    19. Fisherman's Blues
    20. Howling on Dowling
    21. Smalley's Jump - I.H. Smalley And His Rockateers
    22. Young Women's Advice
    23. My Woman Put Me Down
    24. I've Played This Town - Willie Holiday
    25. Free Way Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Rainin' in My Heart
    2. My Blues Have Rolled Away
    3. Texarkana Bound
    4. Blues Pick on Me, The
    5. Reckless Lover
    6. Mabel Mabel
    7. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
    8. Come on Let's Ride
    9. I Always End Up Blue
    10. I Screamed and I Cried (I Have Often Wondered)
    11. Blues Don't Make Me cry
    12. Sweet Happy Home
    13. Oh I Got the Blues
    14. Gonna End My Worries
    15. I'm Writing You Baby
    16. I Want to See You Baby
    17. Fat Girl Boogie
    18. Oo-Wee Baby
    19. She's My Baby
    20. I Wake Up Screaming
    21. I'm Telling You People
    22. How Long Must I Suffer
    23. Got a Big Fine Baby
    24. Please Tell Me Baby
    25. Lord Have Mercy
    26. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Helpless
    2. Down in the Groovy - Lonnie Lyons
    3. Boogie Woogie Playgirl
    4. Swanee River - Little Willie Littlefield
    5. Better Wake Up Baby
    6. Real Fine Girl
    7. My Baby Loves Me So
    8. I'm Just Another Fool
    9. Bad Luck Got My Man - The Harlem Stars/Big Mama Thornton
    10. All Right Baby - The Harlem Stars/Big Mama Thornton
    11. Bad Luck and Trouble
    12. Room and Board Boogie
    13. Hey Joe
    14. Somebody Gotta Go
    15. Got a Mean Woman
    16. Why Did You Leave Me
    17. I Don't Want No Woman
    18. Louise
    19. Cloudy Weather Blues
    20. I'm from Texas
    21. (All Alone) I Sit and Cry
    22. Six Foot Papa
    23. Married Woman Blues
    24. Play Boy Blues
    25. Sampson St. Boogie
    26. Got the Boogie Woogie Blues
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Hard Times
    2. Goin' Back Home
    3. Change Your Ways - Smokey Hogg
    4. Misery Blues
    5. Worried Blues
    6. You Gotta Go
    7. Leaving You Baby - Smokey Hogg
    8. I'm in Love with You
    9. Saved All My Money
    10. I'm Leavin'
    11. You Won't Stay Home
    12. Why Should I Worry
    13. I'm So Lonely
    14. Let's Go Back to the Country
    15. That's My Baby
    16. Hello Baby
    17. I Love You Baby, Pt. 1
    18. I Love You Baby, Pt. 2
    19. What You Gonna Do
    20. What in the World Am I Gonna Do
    21. Shake a Leg
    22. I Often Wonder
    23. Miss Georgia
    24. She's Always on My Mind
    25. Dirty Mistreater
    26. I'm Looking for My Baby
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 57785

  • Credits

    Photographers: Joe Houston; Peppermint Harris; Smokey Hogg; Big Mama Thornton.
    This interesting box set packages 103 sides of vintage Texas blues, jazz, and early R&B recorded in Houston studios immediately after WWII between 1947 and 1951, a boom time when clubs and independent labels were flourishing in the city, and it ends up being both a musical snapshot of a particular place at a particular time and a fun and varied playlist to listen to -- the box set version of a hat trick. Full of rare sides of boogie piano, uptown blues, and swinging little jazz-blues orchestras, Houston Might Be Heaven has some delightful gems, Carl Campbell's swirling, clarinet-led "Goin' Down to Nashville," L.C. Williams' blues piano ballad "Louise," Smokey Hogg's reckless, loose, and yet somehow endearingly lovely "She's Always on My Mind," and Peppermint Harris' sparse and stately take on "Rainin' in My Heart" among them, all of which show what a fine and bright music scene Houston had going in the postwar period. There's a nice groove to this whole set. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.84
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for