CD Marianne [Box] [7 discs] (CD 1235558), Audio Other
back to browsing

Marianne [Box] [7 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Whatcha Gonna Do?
    2. So True Blues
    3. Marianne
    4. U.S.A Dam
    5. Rollin' Home
    6. Everybody Loves Saturday Night
    7. Lonesome Rider
    8. Goodbye Chiquita
    9. Champagne Wine
    10. South Coast
    11. Hot Crawfish
    12. Red Sundown
    13. Yermo's Nightmare and Yermo Red
    14. Sky Is High, The
    15. Send For the Captain
    16. Don't Hurry Worry Me
    17. True Love and Tender Care
    18. Tina
    19. Sweet Sugar Cane, The
    20. I Won't Tell
    21. Strollin' Blues
    22. Tina
    23. South Coast
    24. Fare Thee Well
    25. Weary, Travelin' Blues, The
    26. Blues Ain't Nothin', The
    27. Times
    28. Man About Town
    29. Shorty Joe
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Strollin' Blues Weary Travelin' Blues
    2. Blues Ain't Nothin', The
    3. Times
    4. Lonesome Rider
    5. Greenfields
    6. Easy Rider Blues
    7. Blue Mountain
    8. So True Blues
    9. Fare Thee Well Oh Babe
    10. Windjammer
    11. Kari Waits For Me
    12. Delia
    13. Lonesome Whistle
    14. Wanderin' Blues
    15. Eddystone Light
    16. Drill Ye Tarriers
    17. East Virginia
    18. I Ride an Old Paint
    19. Sweet Sugar Cane
    20. Mayfield Mountain
    21. Rovin' Gambler
    22. Gambler's Blues
    23. Wanderin' Blues
    24. John Henry
    25. Lonesome Whistle
    26. Six Wheel Driver
    27. I'm Gonna Leave You Now
    28. Sweet Sugar Cane
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Saturday's Child
    2. Love Is a Golden Ring
    3. Ride Away Vaquero
    4. Take Off Your Old Coat
    5. Il Fait Si Beau
    6. Glory, Glory
    7. My Pretty Quadroon
    8. Quit Kickin' My Dog Around
    9. Forever New
    10. Poor Boy
    11. Lights of Town, The
    12. Cry of the Wilde Goose, The
    13. Young in Love
    14. Ballad of the Alamo
    15. Green Leaves of Summer, The
    16. Remember the Alamo
    17. Laredo
    18. Green Grow the Lilacs
    19. Long Lean Delilah
    20. Leina
    21. Plain Old Plainsmen
    22. Girl I Left Behind, The
    23. Here's to the Ladies
    24. Tennessee Babe
    25. Mi Amor, Mi Corazon
    26. Haven't We Met Before?
    27. Silver and Gold
    28. Go Tell Her For Me
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Brother Simon and Sister Mary
    2. Eliza's World
    3. Standing in the Garden
    4. Wind Is a Lover, The
    5. Point the Way to My Home
    6. Sip the Morning Dew
    7. How Many Yesterdays
    8. Charlie's Inn
    9. Coney Island
    10. Brother Simon and Sister Mary
    11. Ten Men From Tennessee
    12. Deerfoot Dan
    13. Sam Hall / Nellie
    14. Maggie Gonzales
    15. Along Comes Me
    16. 900 Miles
    17. Bachelor's Boy
    18. Jeb Jones' Daughter
    19. See All the People
    20. Billy Goat Hill
    21. Man About Town
    22. Ta Pedia Tou Pirea :: Never On Sunday
    23. Marianne P
    24. Pajarillo Barranqueno
    25. Toro
    26. Greenfields
    27. Wabash Cannon Ball
    28. Run, Come See Jerusalem
    29. Adieu Cherie
    30. Dead Eye Sam
    31. Devil Cat
    0. DISC 5:
    1. Speak a Word of Love (I Wish, I Wish)
    2. Cry of the Wild Goose, The
    3. Lady From Laramie
    4. Little King
    5. Oh Brandy Leave Me Alone
    6. Boll Weevil
    7. Black Eyed Susie
    8. Stroy of the Creation, The
    9. Cotton Eye Joe
    10. Billy Boy
    11. Roving Gambler
    12. Jennie Jenkins
    13. Black Is the Color
    14. I Know Where I'm Going
    15. Ev'ryone's Crazy 'Ceptin Me
    16. Runnin' Away
    17. Secret, The
    18. Nellie Lou
    19. Fast Freight
    20. Solitary Singer, The
    21. Mr. Buzzerd
    22. Tick Tock Song, The
    23. Across the Wide Missouri
    24. On Top of Old Smoky
    25. Girl in the Wood, The
    26. Mr. Buzzard
    27. Fast Freight
    28. Hoofbeat Serenade
    29. Stay a While
    30. Rollin' Stone
    31. World Belongs to Me, The
    0. DISC 6:
    1. Three Jolly Rogues of Lynne
    2. Charmin' Bells
    3. Nine Hundred Miles
    4. Greensleeves
    5. John Hardy
    6. Green Grow the Lilacs
    7. Fond Affection
    8. Box of Rosewood
    9. Fond Affection
    10. Man You Don't Meet Ev'ryday, The
    11. Lonesome Rider
    12. Tom Jack
    13. Wait by the Willow
    14. Golden Minute
    15. Mackerel Fleet
    16. Sparrow Grass and Brown Bread
    17. Man About Town
    18. Gypsy Davey
    19. Wait by the Willow
    20. Tall Timber
    21. Come Home Zelda
    22. Ride Away Vaquero
    23. Quit Kicking My Dog Around
    24. Man of the Sky, The
    25. Christopher Columbus
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 15780

  • Credits

    Leave it to the Bear Family label to release a six-CD set by a folk act that isn't mentioned in any reference book in the field -- and, what's more, it's all good stuff (make that great if you like the Kingston Trio). And, since there isn't a single track by the Easy Riders available anywhere apart from this box set, anyone curious about their work is going to have to buy it (or dig up the original albums and singles -- good luck). Not only is the trio's complete recorded output here, but so is all of the earlier Decca Records work of the Miller/Dehr version of the Easy Riders, and all of Gilkyson's solo stuff for Decca as well. Disc One opens with the Easy Rider trio's first sessions from May 1956, revealing the group with its sound already fully formed, moving in an alternately gentle and lively manner through folk songs and traditional-sounding numbers, including the versions of "South Coast" (two versions) and "Everybody Loves Saturday Night," as well as numerous unreleased numbers, including their original "The Sweet Sugar Cane" and a cover of the Felice and Boudleaux Bryant song "Tina." Disc Two is highlighted by various folk-blues-style numbers, as well as the trio's first approach to cowboy songs ("I Ride an Old Paint," etc.) and "I'm Gonna Leave You Now," awhich they cut with Guy Mitchell. Disc Three finishes the original trio's history and features the recordings by Gilkyson and Dehr following the split with Miller. Gilkyson's solo demos and the 12 songs cut by Frank Miller's Easy Riders, including their versions of "Marianne" and "Greenfields," anot to mention "Wabash Cannon Ball." Disc Five features all of Gilkyson's solo recordings for Decca from 1949 through 1951 (including "Cry of the Wild Goose" and an early version of "Fast Freight," awhich later entered the Kingston Trio's repertory), as well as his two collaborations with the Weavers in 1951 -- these include half a dozen songs that were unreleased until 1995, with the issue of this box. Finally, Disc Six has the complete work of the Miller/Dehr two-man Easy Riders, Dehr's solo demos, and Gilkyson's solo recordings from 1952 and 1953. The quality of the music is all very high, although Gilkyson's baritone singing has a more trained, dramatic, at times almost operatic approach than one is accustomed to in "folk" music, reminiscent more of Richard Dyer-Bennett (or even Paul Robeson) than to Woody Guthrie or Cisco Houston. The most extraordinary aspect of any of this is that the group has slipped entirely through the cracks of every music reference book in existence. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $80.05
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for