CD Mississippi Hill Country Blues (CD 346085), Audio Other
back to browsing

Mississippi Hill Country Blues

  • 1. Miss Maybelle
    2. House upon the Hill
    3. Gone So Long
    4. Skinny Woman
    5. See What My Buddy Done
    6. Don't Care How Long You're Gone
    7. Lost Without Your Love - (previously unreleased)
    8. Shake 'Em on Down
    9. Bad Luck and Trouble
    10. Just Like a Woman
    11. Greyhound Bus Station - (previously unreleased)
    12. Crying Won't Make Me Stay - (previously unreleased)
    13. Rollin' and Tumblin'
    14. Mellow Peaches
    15. I Believe
    16. Poor Boy
    17. Poor Black Mattie
    18. Jumper on the Line
    19. Long Haired Doney
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 80341

  • Credits
    EngineerLeo Bruin; George Mitchell

    Personnel: R.L. Burnside (vocals, guitar); Red Ramsey (harmonica).
    Recorded between 1967 & 1982. Originally released on Swingmaster (2201). Includes liner notes by Kent Laundre & Leo Bruin.
    Personnel: R.L. Burnside (vocals, guitar); Red Ramsey (harmonica).
    Recording information: Coldwater, MS (??/1967-11/1984); Groningen, Mexico (??/1967-11/1984); Groningen, The Netherlands (??/1967-11/1984).
    Photographer: Axel Kuestner.
    Arranger: R.L. Burnside.
    There isn't a blues artist alive today that can harness mercurial gutbucket chaos like R.L. Burnside. His take on the droning, circular guitar riffs indigenous to the blues of the north Mississippi hill country, coupled with his electric band's skull-crushing power, is enough to send listeners into hypnotic convulsions of rapture. However, MISSISSIPPI HILL COUNTRY BLUES, culled from sessions in the late 1960s and early 1980s, features Burnside solo on acoustic guitar. The results, stark and clear in the absence of his customary distortion and sonic upheaval, are spectacular.
    Though the performances here are as intense as his electric sets, this album's spare aesthetic makes it possible to concentrate closely on Burnside's intricate guitar technique, which sets repeating motifs and rhythms against each other to create a seemingly ragged yet tightly controlled propulsive energy. The 19-song track list includes several Burnside favorites, including "Poor Black Mattie," and a fierce slide treatment of "Shake 'Em on Down." The lesser-known "Skinny Woman" and "Jumper on the Line" are no less compelling. Superior production, highlighting Burnside's playing and his no-nonsense, freely phrased singing, makes MISSISSIPPI HILL COUNTRY BLUES a must for fans, and an excellent introduction for the uninitiated.

  • Critic Reviews
    CMJ (8/01, p.77) - "...Blues chestnuts, raw and unsalted."
    JazzTimes (9/01, p.89) - "...Features Burnside singing in that riveting, blues-drenched style accompanying himself on acoustic guitar..."
    Living Blues (9-10/01, p.83) - "...Hard to beat..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.83
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for