CD Saturnz Return (CD 1195178), Audio Other
back to browsing

Saturnz Return

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mother
    2. Truth
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Temper, Temper
    2. Digitial
    3. I'll Be There for You
    4. Believe
    5. Dragonfly
    6. Chico - Death of a Rockstar
    7. Letter of Fate
    8. Fury - The Origin
    9. Crystal Clear
    10. Demonz
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 828990

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Goldie (vocals, keyboards, various instruments); Louis Jardine (vocals, congas, percussion); Diane Charlamagne, David Bowie, Cleveland Watkiss (vocals); KRS-One (rap vocals); Adam Salkeld (acoustic & electric guitars); "Fucking Large" Noel Gallagher, Chico Science (guitar); Gavyn Wright, Wilf Gibson, Peter Oxer, Roger Garland, Rebecca Hirsch, Jim Mcleod (violin); George Robertson, Ivo van der Werff (viola); Tony Pleeth (cello); Dan Lipman (flute); John Eastcoat (flugel horn, horn); Guy Sigworth, Justina Curtis (Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); Tim "Da Bass" Philbert, Chris Laurence (bass); Trevor "What A Fucking Cat" Moray (drums); Mark Sayfritz, Will O'Donovan, Optical (programming); DJ Agzi (scratches).
    Few would describe Goldie as a master of understatement. His private life, his fashion style, his musical output, all reach for registry on a grander scale than most other music superstars of the late nineties, Gallaghers and Spices included. No surprise then that SATURNZ RETURN, his second full-length album and his second two-cd set (!), is packed to the gills with drum'n'bass pomp; from the massive Metalheadz breakbeats that have cemented his visionary rep to cameos by two heavies (Noel Gallagher on "Temper Temper," and KRS-One on "Digital") meant to assist drum'n'bass' crash-landing into the pop consciousness.
    But the grandest thing about Goldie is his 70mm musical vision, and that's best exemplified by the hour-long opener "Mother," a Bjork-meets-Pink Floyd-in-the-jungle excursion that also serves as the album's emotional springboard in much the same way "Inner City Life" opened his debut. Amidst strings and sounds of landing rocketships (there's no hint of beat until more than twenty minutes into the piece), Diane Charlamagne's wailing diva vocals unlock the gates to Goldie's soul, letting both the light and the darkness escape. Needless to say, there's plenty of both in there.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (3/98, p.130) - 6 (out of 10) - "...Forget coherance: Unlike Tricky, Goldie is no formal genius. His transitions are sometimes merely unbrilliant, sometimes unintentionally comic, or just plain nonexistant....Elsewhere, Goldie more successfully infuses the genre with hip-hop hardness and R&B lace..."
    Vibe (2/98, p.117) - "...Rising to the challenge of expanding and raising the idiom of jungle beyond the borders of its underground-music confines, SATURNZRETURN, Goldie's intoxicating, authobiographical new double-disc, is simultaneously self-indulgent and brilliant..."
    Melody Maker (1/24/98, p.34) - "...SATURNZ RETURN challenges you like no other Nineties album has done....Goldie is already hearing the sounds of the 24th century in his head."
    NME (Magazine) (1/24/98, p.34) - 8 (out of 10) - "...SATURNZ RETURN is an astonishingly ambitious opus and, given its length and emotional breadth, also a remarkably consistent one....Ladies and gentlemen, Goldie is floating in space."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for