CD Sleep at Your Own Speed [Slipcase] (CD 1357894), Audio Other
back to browsing

Sleep at Your Own Speed [Slipcase]

  • 1. Getaway
    2. Sex Szene
    3. Gumble
    4. You Know Everything
    5. House/Home
    6. New Nest
    7. Opening Night
    8. Bike
    9. Leave This Town
    10. Head's Content
    11. Ball Point Skin Notes
    12. Boy You Miss The Most, The
    13. Rounds
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 082

  • Credits

    Butcher the Bar: Joel Nicholson.
    Butcher the Bar is the one-man band of Joel Nicholson, whose debut album can readily be summed up as a collection of songs greater than the sum of its parts. That may damn with faint praise, but Sleep at Your Own Speed, in its gentle blend of softly echoed vocals, guitar and other instruments, a bedroom recording par excellence, reminds one of nothing so much as the many albums released by Jim Rao aka Orange Cake Mix, each of which had its own calling card songs but which all tended to blend together as a blissfully sweet listen. That Nicholson has done the same here is no problem insofar as he's nailed his approach very well -- two songs that appeared on an earlier single, "Get Away" and "Leave This Town," essentially set the dynamic for the album as a whole with little variation. Nicholson's understated singing, hint-of-shoegaze playing, and general sonic envelopment are familiar approaches from any number of performers, and Sleep at Your Own Speed should best be characterized as an enjoyable starting point rather than as a release that fully stands out. Given time, he may well start releasing some truly striking performances, but for now he shows promise, and that is enough. ~ Ned Raggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.05
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for