CD The Gene Krupa Story [Box Set] [Box] (CD 884198), Audio Other
back to browsing

The Gene Krupa Story [Box Set] [Box]

    1. I Hope Gabriel Like My Music
    2. Swing Is Here
    3. Grandfather's Clock
    4. I Know That You Know
    5. Fare Thee Well, Annie Laurie
    6. Wire Brush Stomp
    7. Rhythm Jam
    8. Nagasaki
    9. Tutti-Frutti
    10. Jeepers Creepers
    11. Murdy Purdy
    12. Apurskody
    13. Do You Wanna Jump, Children?
    14. Quiet and Roll 'Em
    15. Madam Swings It, The
    16. Jungle Madness
    17. Old Black Joe
    18. Sweetheart, Honey, Darlin' Dear
    19. Symphony in Riffs
    20. Drummin' Man
    21. Blue Rhythm Fantasy
    22. Boog It
    23. Tuxedo Junction
    24. No Name Jive
    25. Seageant Was Shy, The
    26. Who?
    1. Babe Takes a Bow, The
    2. Rhumboogie
    3. I Hear Music
    4. How About That Mess
    5. Full Dress Hop
    6. Sweet Georgia Brown
    7. Deep in the Blues
    8. There'll Be Some Changes Made
    9. Drum Boogie
    10. Georgia on My Mind
    11. Just a Little Bit South of North Carolina
    12. Slow Down
    13. Green Eyes
    14. Let Me Off Uptown
    15. Kick It
    16. After You've Gone
    17. Rockin' Chair
    18. Stop! The Red Light's On
    19. Walls Keep Talking, The
    20. Skylark
    21. Bolero at the Savoy
    22. Thanks For the Boogie Ride
    23. Pass the Bounce
    24. Ball of Fire
    25. That's What You Think
    1. Knock Me a Kiss
    2. That Drummer's Band
    3. Massachusetts
    4. "Murder", He Says
    5. Leave Us Leap
    6. What's This?
    7. Dark Eyes
    8. Body and Soul
    9. Stompin' at the Savoy
    10. Opus No. 1
    11. That Feeling in the Moonlight, (Did You Ever Get)
    12. Boogie Blues
    13. Chickery Chick
    14. In the Middle of May
    15. Lover
    16. Tea For Two
    17. Harriet
    18. How High the Moon
    19. There Is No Breeze (To Cool the Flame of Love)
    20. Disc Jockey Jump
    21. Gene's Boogie
    22. Starburst
    23. I Should Have Kept on Dreaming
    24. Calling Dr. Gillespie
    25. Up an' Atom
    1. Blue Moon
    2. Leave Us Leap
    3. Moontide
    4. Indiana
    5. Begin the Beguine
    6. My Ideal
    7. Calling Dr. Gillespie
    8. Love Is in My Heart
    9. Wire Brush Stomp
    10. I'll Never Be the Same
    11. Blue Lou
    12. Man I Love, The
    13. Birdhouse
    14. 10 Ritchie Drive
    15. It's up to You
    16. Otto, Make That Riff Staccato
    17. Uso
    18. Lyonnaise Potatoes and Some Pork Chops
    19. In the Moon Mist
    20. Margie
    21. Night and Day
    22. By the River St. Marie
    23. All by Myself
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 01

  • Credits
    ProducerJoop Visser (Compilation)

    Personnel includes: Gene Krupa (drums); Anita O'Day, Dave Lambert, Leo Watson, Jerry Kruger, Irene Daye, Buddy Stewart, Carolyn Gray (vocals); Vido Musso, Chu Berry, Charlie Ventura (saxophone); Red Rodney, Roy Eldridge, Don Fagerquist, Al Porcino, Shorty Sherock (trumpet); Urbie Green, John Grassi (trombone); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Jess Stacy, Teddy Napoleon, Milt Raskin (piano).
    Recorded in February 1936 through March 1947. Includes liner notes by Joop Visser.
    Digitally remastered by Peter Rynston (Tall Order Mastering).
    The Gene Krupa Story is a four-CD box set anthology containing 98 tracks with a 32-page booklet. The focus is on Krupa's role as a bandleader from the late '30s through the '50s of various size ensembles that included Anita O'Day, Roy Eldridge, and Irene Daye, to name a few. The mid-price makes this Empire package attractive. ~ Al Campbell

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for