CD Warren Zevon [Collector's Edition] [Digipak] (CD 1309610), Audio Other
back to browsing

Warren Zevon [Collector's Edition] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Frank And Jesse James
    2. Mama Couldn't Be Persuaded
    3. Backs Turned Looking Down The Path
    4. Hasten Down The Wind
    5. Poor Poor Pitiful Me
    6. French Inhaler, The
    7. Mohammed's Radio
    8. I'll Sleep When I'm Dead
    9. Carmelita
    10. Join Me In L.A.
    11. Desperados Under The Eaves
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Frank And Jesse James [Solo Piano Demo] - (previously unreleased)
    2. French Inhaler [Solo Piano Demo], The - (previously unreleased)
    3. Hasten Down The Wind [Band Demo] - (previously unreleased)
    4. Carmelita [1974 Demo] - (previously unreleased)
    5. Mohammed's Radio [Solo Piano Demo] - (previously unreleased)
    6. Backs Turned Looking Down The Path [Take 1 - 1/28/76] (previously unreleased, take)
    7. Join Me In L.A. [Take 2 - 11/20/75] (previously unreleased, take)
    8. Poor Poor Pitiful Me [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    9. Frank And Jesse James [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    10. Mohammed's Radio [Take 2 - 11/6/75] (previously unreleased, take)
    11. French Inhaler [Take 1 - 1/13/76], The (previously unreleased, take)
    12. Carmelita [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
    13. Deperados Under The Eaves [Take 2 - 1/13/76] (previously unreleased, take)
    14. Mama Couldn't Be Persuaded [Live WMMS 10/13/76] - (previously unreleased, live)
    15. I'll Sleep When I'm Dead [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): R2 512737

  • Credits
    ProducerJackson Browne; Cheryl Pawelski (Reissue)
    EngineerKen Caillat

    Personnel includes: Warren Zevon (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, electric piano); David Lindley (guitar, slide guitar, banjo, fiddle); Waddy Watchel (guitar); Jackson Browne (slide guitar, piano, background vocals); Jai Winding (piano, organ, synthesizer); Bobby Keys (saxophone); Bob Glaub, Marty David, Roy Marinell (bass); Larry Zack, Gary Mallaber (drums); Phil Everly, John David Souther, Lindsay Buckingham, Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Stevie Nicks, Jorge Calderon, Bonnie Raitt, Rosemary Butler (background vocals).
    Recorded at Elektra Sound Recorders and Sunset Sound Recorders, Los Angeles.
    Composer/Lyricist: Warren Zevon.
    Personnel: Warren Zevon (vocals, guitar, piano, electric piano); Glenn Frey, Lindsey Buckingham (vocals, guitar); Jackson Browne (vocals, slide guitar); Jai Winding (vocals, piano, organ, synthesizer); The Gentlemen Boys, Don Henley, Stephanie Nicks, J.D. Souther, Jorge Caldern, Phil Everly, Rosemary Butler, Carl Wilson , Bonnie Raitt, Billy Hinsche (vocals); Ned Doheny, Waddy Wachtel (guitar); David Lindley (banjo, fiddle, bass guitar); The Sidney Sharp Strings (strings); Bobby Keys (saxophone); Marty David, Roy Marinell, Bob Glaub (bass instrument); Gary Mallaber, Larry Zack (drums); Fritz Richmond.
    Audio Mixer: John Haeny.
    Audio Remasterer: Gavin Lurssen.
    Arrangers: Warren Zevon; Carl Wilson .
    Zevon actually released a record prior to his celebrated self-titled "debut," a record so bad that he took to touring with the Everly Brothers. Whatever he did on the road with them paid off. He returned to recording with bone-rattling West Coast tales of prostitutes, heroin addicts, outlaws and suicidal bar hoppers. Thus, Zevon went, with one record, from playing piano on "Bye Bye Love" to becoming supreme chronicler of L.A.'s underbelly.
    Easily his richest and most consistent album, this is arguably the best place for the uninitiated to start. The deranged romp of "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" and the tongue in cheek masochism of "Poor, Poor Pitiful Me" introduced the world at large to the darkly sardonic edge of the singer's muse. From the romanticized "Frank and Jesse James" to the starkly beautiful "Desperadoes Under the Eaves," the album rolls with an insightful (albeit sometimes crazed) sense of purpose.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.129) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "WARREN ZEVON captures the singer-songwriter at his peak as a black humorist."
    Uncut (9/03, p.96) - "Zevon's hardboiled reputation for chronicling LA's underbelly starts here..."
    Dirty Linen (p.54) - "A song cycle about Southern California, WARREN ZEVON offered a hard-living, gambling, drug-taking contrast to the songs about the sun and surfing."
    Record Collector (magazine) (p.105) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's perhaps surprising that the caustic attitude and uncomfortably forthright eloquence were so fully formed so early on."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.09
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for