CD Zen: A Retrospective (CD 928284), Audio Other
back to browsing

Zen: A Retrospective

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Dark Lady - DJ Food
    2. Atomic Moog - Coldcut
    3. Get Your Snack On - Amon Tobin
    4. Pick Up - Bonobo
    5. Get a Move On - Mr. Scruff
    6. Sweetsmoke - Mr. Scruff
    7. Bend Over - Wagon Christ
    8. Skanky Panky - Kid Koala
    9. Get Your Head Down - Luke Vibert
    10. Sordid - Amon Tobin
    11. Spiral - DJ Food
    12. Auto - Hexstatic
    13. Timber - Coldcut
    14. Easy Muffin - Amon Tobin
    15. Check Fraud - Fog
    16. All That You Give - The Cinematic Orchestra
    17. Long Road - Funki Porcini (edit)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. More Beats & Pieces - Coldcut
    2. Terrorist - DJ Vadim
    3. Fender Bender - Kid Koala
    4. Your Revolution - DJ Vadim
    5. Mr. Chombee Has the Flaw - The Herbaliser
    6. Shrimp - Mr. Scruff
    7. Blend, The - The Herbaliser
    8. Black Jesus - 9 Lazy 9
    9. Aqui No Ma - Up, Bustle and Out
    10. Channel 1 Suite - The Cinematic Orchestra
    11. Deo - Amon Tobin
    12. All Things to All Men - The Cinematic Orchestra
    13. Lithuania - Jaga Jazzist
    14. Purrfect - Funki Porcini (edit)
    15. Something Wicked - The Herbaliser
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 85

  • Credits

    More a greatest-hits volume than Ninja Tune's previous multi-disc collection (the rarities-heavy Xen Cuts), the double-disc Zen: A Retrospective barely includes any Top 40 hits (the number 37 Coldcut's "More Beats & Pieces" is the highest peak), but if dance music had a Hit Parade, there'd be at least a dozen number ones here. The first disc buttonholes listeners by spinning through some of the downright hookiest tracks in dance history (Amon Tobin's "Get Your Snack On," Coldcut's "Atomic Moog 2000," Mr. Scruff's "Get a Move On," DJ Food's "Dark Lady"). The second disc hardly lets up, beginning with "More Beats & Pieces" -- a digital-turntablist symphony that qualifies as the label's highlight -- but also including career highlights (or close to it) from the Herbaliser ("Mr. Chombee Has the Flaw"), Kid Koala ("Fender Bender"), DJ Vadim ("The Terrorist"), and Cinematic Orchestra ("All That You Give"). It really does feature the best tracks that have ever been out on Ninja Tune -- who knows better than the label itself? -- and doesn't neglect the addition of a great rarity or two, like a non-LP "Get Your Head Down" by Luke Vibert and a non-CD version of "Check Fraud" by Fog. An accompanying remix CD and fully packed DVD make the Zen experience a fitting postcard to itself from the best breaks label in the business. ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.79
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for