CD At Newport [Remaster] [Muddy Waters] (CD 137703),
back to browsing

At Newport [Remaster] [Muddy Waters]

  • 1. I Got My Brand on You
    2. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
    3. Baby Please Don't Go
    4. Soon Forgotten
    5. Tiger in Your Tank
    6. I Feel So Good
    7. I've Got My Mojo Working
    8. I've Got My Mojo Working, Part 2
    9. Goodbye Newport Blues
    10. I Got My Brand on You - (bonus track)
    11. Soon Forgotten - (bonus track)
    12. Tiger in Your Tank - (bonus track)
    13. Meanest Woman - (bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 112 515

  • Credits
    ProducerAndy McKaie (Reissue)

    This reissue contains 4 mono bonus studio tracks.
    Personnel includes: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Langston Hughes (spoken vocals); Pat Hare (guitar); James Cotton (harmonica); Otis Span (piano, background vocals); Andrew Stevenson (bass); Francis Clay (drums).
    Recorded live at Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhode Island on July 3, 1960 and Chicago, Illinois in June 1960.
    Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin and Jack Tracy.
    Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering).
    The old cover photograph of Muddy clutching John Lee Hooker's guitar gave the impression that he was at a Folk Festival rather than the prestigious Newport Jazz Festival. However, the record revealed the King of Chicago blues at his very best, shouting his music above the discordant wail of a band that included Otis Spann, James Cotton, Pat Hare and Francis Clay. Film of the event shows a sharply dressed Muddy shimmying and jiving around the stage with the energy of a man half his age. Some of that atmosphere is apparent on the record, in a program that includes 'Hoochie Coochie Man', Big Bill Broonzy's 'I Feel So Good', recent singles 'I Got My Brand On You' and 'Soon Forgotten', and a massive 'Got My Mojo Working'. The set ends in poignant mood with the announcement of the end of the Festival and Otis Spann's improvised 'Goodbye Newport Blues'.

  • Critic Reviews
    Vibe (12/99, p.160) - Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for