CD Living Country Blues: An Anthology (CD 971147),
back to browsing

Living Country Blues: An Anthology

    1. Catfish Blues - James "Son" Thomas
    2. Bye Bye Blues - Arzo Youngblood
    3. Gonna Cut You Loose - Eddie Cusic
    4. You Gonna Take Sick and Die - Boyd Rivers
    5. Maggie Campbell Blues - Bill "Boogie Bill" Webb
    6. Sittin' on the Top of the World - Sam Chatmon
    7. Move Daniel - Cora Fluker
    8. My Babe - Otha Turner
    9. Boggie Chillen - Lonnie Pitchford
    10. Bull Cow Blues - James "Son" Thomas
    11. Stop and Listen Blues - Sam Chatmon
    12. Swing, Swing - Arzo Youngblood
    13. Jazz Boogie Woogie - Stonewall Mays
    14. Jesus Is on the Mainline - Boyd Rivers
    15. Shake Your Money Maker - Lonnie Pitchford
    16. Rock Me Mama - James "Son" Thomas
    17. Big Road Blues - Bill "Boogie Bill" Webb
    18. My Daddy Was a Jockey - Sam Chatmon
    19. That's the Boogie - Napoleon Strickland
    20. Vicksburg Blues - Sam Chatmon
    21. Mississippi Moan - Walter Brown
    22. When I Lay My Burden Down - Otha Turner
    1. Lonesome Road Blues - Guitar Frank
    2. Baby Please Give Me a Break - Archie Edwards
    3. Road Is Rough and Rocky, The - Archie Edward
    4. Come on in My Kitchen - Guitar Slim
    5. Bye And Bye / I'm Going To See The King - Flora Molton/The Truth Band
    6. Chimney Hill Breakdown - Guitar Frank
    7. Railroad Bill - Guitar Frank
    8. Chicken Can't Roost Too High For Me - John Cephas
    9. Goin' Down the Road Feelin' Bad - Cephas & Wiggins
    10. Do Lord Remember Me - Archie Edwards
    11. Jelly Roll Baker - Guitar Frank
    12. I'm Feelin' Lonesome - Guitar Slim
    13. My Old Schoolmates - Archie Edwards
    14. Lonesome Home Blues - Guitar Slim
    15. T For Texas - Archie Edwards
    16. Diggin' My Potatoes - Guitar Frank
    17. Vacation in Heaven - Flora Molton/The Truth Band
    1. Granny Will Your Dog Bite - Otha Turner
    2. I Laid and I Wondered - James "Son" Thomas
    3. I Can't Stand It - Flora Molton
    4. Mr. Freddie Blues - Memphis Piano Red
    5. Corrine, Corrina - Hammie Nixon
    6. Rollin' and Tumblin' - Lottie Murrell
    7. She's Tailor Made - Charlie Sangster
    8. Hounds, The - Sam "Stretch" Shields
    9. You Got to Move - Boyd Rivers
    10. Let Me Play With Your Poodle - CeDell Davis
    11. Viola Lee Blues - Hammie Nixon
    12. Joe's Prison Camp Holler - Joe Savage
    13. When the Saints Go Marchin' In - Otha Turner
    14. Spoonful - Lottie Murrell
    15. You Got to Do the Boogie Woogie - CeDell Davis
    16. Trouble Late Last Night - Lottie Murrell
    17. Dry Bones in the Valley - Cora Fluker
    18. I Got a Gal 'Cross the Bottom - Lottie Murrell
    19. Soon One Mornin' - Hammie Nixon
    20. Levee Camp Holler - Walter Brown
    21. Precious Lord - Boyd Rivers
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 26105

  • Credits

    Producers: Siegfried Christmann, Axel Kustner.
    Reissue producer: Brett Bonner.
    Recorded in October through November 1980. Includes liner notes by Brett Bonner, Axel Kustner & Jerry Gordon.
    In 1980, German blues enthusiasts Axel Kustner and Siegfried Christmann traveled throughout the southern U.S. documenting the songs of country blues performers, many of whom had never been recorded. The results (originally released on vinyl in the early '80s) have been compiled on this three-CD collection, and it's a treasure. The most well-known players here are Cephas & Wiggins, Sam Chatmon, Hammie Nixon, and Guitar Frank--but don't let that put you off. Not only are their songs great (John Cephas's solo-guitar "Chicken Can't Roost too High for Me" is a beautiful blend of classical, blues, and ragtime), but Lonnie Pitchford's "Boogie Chillen," played on a one-string electric guitar, is a shimmering, dissonant boogie delight (it's perhaps creepy enough to scare Jon Spencer and R.L. Burnside out of the music biz). James "Son" Thomas's dark, salacious take on "Catfish Blues" makes most rappers and rockers sound as tame as Celine Dion. This marvelous set collects not only blues singer/guitarists, but pianists, jug-blowers, fife & drum bands, and unaccompanied singers and field hollerers. LIVING COUNTRY BLUES not only preserves a lot of fine and timeless American roots music; it's recorded history. Essential.

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (6-7/00, pp.59-60) - "...Contains many raw, intense performances including impressive gospel by Boyd Rice, Cora Fluker, and the anomalous blues of Lonnie Pitchford..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (11/99, p.120) - "...this absorbing set has become a museum of music from an already irretrievable past."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $33.93
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for