CD The Greatest Jazz Concert in the World (CD 193422),
back to browsing

The Greatest Jazz Concert in the World

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Smedley
    2. Someday My Prince Will Come
    3. Daytrain
    4. Now's the Time
    5. Memories of You
    6. Misty
    7. I Can't Get Started
    8. Wee
    9. Moonglow
    10. Sweet Georgia Brown
    11. C Jam Blues
    12. Woman, You Must Be Crazy
    13. Stormy Monday
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Swamp Goo
    2. Girdle Hurdle
    3. Shepherd, The
    4. Rue Bleue
    5. Salome
    6. Chromatic Love Affair, A
    7. Mount Harissa
    8. Blood Count
    9. Rockin' in Rhythm
    10. Very Tenor
    11. Onions (Wild Onions)
    12. Take the "A" Train
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Satin Doll
    2. Tootie for Cootie
    3. Up Jump
    4. Prelude to a Kiss
    5. Mood Indigo/I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good/Things Ain't What They U: Mood Indigo / I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
    6. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
    7. Don't Be That Way
    8. You've Changed
    9. Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love)
    10. On the Sunny Side of the Street
    11. It's Only a Paper Moon
    12. Day Dream
    13. If I Could Be With You (One Hour Tonight)
    14. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
    15. Cotton Tail
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3PACD-2625-7

  • Credits
    ProducerNorman Granz
    EngineerVal Valentin

    Recorded in New York, Hollywood, and Oakland, California in June and July 1967. Includes liner notes by Benny Green.
    Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (January 1989, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
    Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); T-Bone Walker (vocals, guitar); Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Johnny Hodges (saxophone, alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Harry Carney, Jimmy Hamilton, Russell Procope (saxophone); Benny Carter (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Clark Terry, Cootie Williams, Herb Jones, Mercer Ellington, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Lawrence Brown , Chuck Connors, Buster Cooper (trombone); Jimmy Jones , Oscar Peterson (piano); Louis Hayes, Rufus "Speedy" Jones, Sam Woodyard, Bobby Durham (drums).
    Audio Remixers: David Luke; Eric Miller .
    Liner Note Author: Benny Green .
    Recording information: Hollywood, CA (06/1967-07/1967); New York, NY (06/1967-07/1967); Oakland, CA (06/1967-07/1967).
    Photographers: Phil Stern; Chris Outwater.
    In addition to having a somewhat immodest title, this three-CD set was not actually one single concert but two. That reservation aside, the music on the reissue is often quite special. There is a jam session in the Jazz at the Philharmonic vein with flgelhornist Clark Terry, altoist Benny Carter, the tenors of Zoot Sims, and Paul Gonsalves and the Oscar Peterson Trio with the all-stars playing a ballad medley and heated run-throughs of a few familiar standards. In addition, the Oscar Peterson Trio has a few features, an aging Coleman Hawkins does what he can on two numbers, Hawk teams up with altoists Benny Carter and Johnny Hodges on "C Jam Blues," and special guest T-Bone Walker sings and plays a couple of blues with assists from Terry, Gonsalves, Hodges, and Peterson. But that's not all. The Duke Ellington Orchestra is in prime form performing a great deal of new material, plus having guest spots for Sims (along with fellow tenors Gonsalves and Jimmy Hamilton on "Very Tenor"), Oscar Peterson (who gets to lead the band through a unique version of "Take the 'A' Train") and Carter; Johnny Hodges is also well-showcased. Ella Fitzgerald completes the memorable set with her usual classy performance (accompanied by the Jimmy Jones Trio and sometimes the Ellington Orchestra), finishing the show with some hot scatting on "Cotton Tail." Maybe this really was "the Greatest Jazz Concert" after all. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for