CD The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of (CD 173110),
back to browsing

The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Croquet Habits - Freeny's Barn Dance Band
    2. Mississippi Country Farm - Son House
    3. Up Jumped the Rabbit - Georgia Pot Lickers
    4. I'm Going Back Home - Memphis Minnie/Joe McCoy
    5. Fightin' in the War With Spain - Wilmer Watts & His Lonely Eagles
    6. Old Timbrook - John Byrd
    7. Little Talk With Jesus, A - Ernest Phillips
    8. Slidin' Delta - Tommy Johnson
    9. Alabama - Three Stripped Gears
    10. Rollin' Dough - Jack Gowdlock
    11. Ginseng - Kentucky Ramblers
    12. Police & High Sheriff Come Ridin' Down - Ollis Martin
    13. John Hardy Blues - Roy Harvey & Jess Johnston/West Viriginia Ramblers
    14. Down Home Boys Original Stack O' Lee, The - Long Cleve Reed & Little Harvey Hull Down Home Boys
    15. Two Step de la Prairie Soileau - Amede Ardoin & Dennis McGee
    16. Operator - Andrew & Jim Baxter
    17. Grey Eagle, The - J.D.Harris
    18. Jim Strainer - Memphis Jug Band
    19. Ain't That Trouble in Mind - Grayson County Railsplitters
    20. Old Rub Alcohol - Dock Boggs
    21. Mistreatin' Mama - Jaybird Coleman
    22. It's a Rough Road to Georgia - Henry Whitter
    23. Live the Life - Lottie Kimbrough
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Sweet Mama - Yank Rachell/Sleepy John Estes
    2. We All Love Mother - Crowder Brothers
    3. Clarksdale - Son House
    4. Moan - Ashley & Foster
    5. Bull Dog Sal - Jesse Babyface Thomas
    6. Down in Texas - Georgia Pot Lickers
    7. I'm Leavin' Town (But I Sho' Don't Wanna Go) - William Harris
    8. Wild Cat Rag - Asa Martin/Roy Hobbs
    9. Whoopee Road - King Solomon Hill
    10. Davey Crockett - Chubby Parker
    11. Skinny Leg Blues - Geeshie Wiley
    12. I'm Gonna Marry That Pretty Little Girl - Sweet Brothers
    13. I Shall Not Be Moved - Blind Roosevelt Graves/Uaroy Graves
    14. Lonesome Road - Smith & Irvine
    15. If I Call You Mama - Luke Jordan
    16. My Mind Is to Marry - Grayson & Whitter
    17. Green River - Osey Helton
    18. Don't Speak to Me - Lottie Kimbrough
    19. Married Man's Blues - Wade Ward
    20. Sweet Betsey From Pike - Ken Maynard
    21. Boll Weevil - Jaybird Coleman
    22. Bound Steel Blues - Bill Shepherd/Hayes Shepherd
    23. Bells of Love - Middle Georgia Singing Conventin No. 1
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2202

  • Credits

    Various Artists: Georgia Pot Lickers, Rev. B.L. Wightman & Congregation, Smith & Irvine, Uaroy Graves, Roy Hobbs, Yank Rachell.
    For anyone who's collected 78-rpm records, enjoyed Harry Smith's Anthology of American Folk Music, or expressed interest in the great missing old-time and blues records of yesteryear, The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of will be the Holy Grail. Whereas it isn't unusual for Yazoo to place a rarity on a new collection by Blind Blake or Blind Lemon Jefferson, this two-disc collection -- all 46 cuts -- is a testament to rarities. Perhaps the best-known (to a general old-time/blues audience) performer here is Son House, and the collection includes recordings of "Mississippi County Farm Blues" and "Clarksdale Moan." Others might be familiar with Dock Boggs ("Old Rub Alcohol Blues"), Ken Maynard ("Sweet Betsey from Pike"), and the Memphis Jug Band ("Jim Strainer Blues"). Incredibly, several of these tracks were recorded as test pressings and never officially released, meaning that as far as the recording industry is concerned, they don't exist. It's probable that all of the fuss made over this collection of rarities will make little sense to folks who don't spend all of their spare money and time hunting down 78-rpm records, and there's a point here. If you don't know that a certain item is rare, you won't value it in the same way a collector might. In this sense, one CD filled with scratchy old recordings is as good as another. But even for those who might not understand why they should be excited by The Stuff That Dreams Are Made Of, the collection nonetheless holds up as good old-time folk and blues, and expense-wise, Yazoo always offers lots of quality music for one's money. As an added bonus the cover art and inside cartoon has been put together by none other than Robert Crumb, a record collector and one-time string band performer himself. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (p.69) - "[O]ld-time country music, early blues, and gospel....The recordings -- of varying brilliance -- are grail-like rarities."
    Living Blues (p.76) - "House was the greatest of all the 'deep' Delta singers, and this was his greatest recording session. The guitar work is crisp, with his usual unerring rhythmic control, and his voice is magnificent."
    No Depression (p.100) - "There are fetching country blues tracks.....It's all put together with enthusiasm and tongue-in-cheek ribbing of the collecting bug."
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] glittering parade of mountain stringbands and sanctified preachers, fiddle and harmonica tunes, banjo songs and guitar blues..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.11
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for