CD Vanguard: Roots of Folk [Box] (CD 162352),
back to browsing

Vanguard: Roots of Folk [Box]

  • 1. Joe Hillk - Paul Robeson
    2. Irene - Leon Bibb
    3. Kumbaya - The Weavers
    4. This Land is Your Land - Cisco Houston
    5. Roll On Buddy - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
    6. Another Man Done Gone - Odetta
    7. Turn, Turn, Turn - Judy Collins
    8. If I Had a Hammer - The Weavers
    9. Donna Donna - Joan Baez
    10. Battle, The - Jimmie Driftwood
    11. Amazing Grace - Clarence Ashley/Doc Watson
    12. It Takes a Worried Man - Mother Maybelle Carter
    13. Little Maggie - Sandy Bull
    14. Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotten
    15. Tom Dooley - Doc Watson
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Universal Soldier, The - Buffy Sainte-Marie
    2. Violets of Dawn - Eric Andersen
    3. M.T.a. - The Kingston Trio
    4. Walk Right In - Rooftop Singers
    5. Catch the Wind - Donovan/Joan Baez
    6. Pack Up Your Sorrows - Mimi/Richard Faria
    7. It Ain't Me Babe - Joan Baez/Bob Dylan
    8. People Get Ready - The Chambers Brothers
    9. I Ain't Marchin' Anymore - Phil Ochs
    10. Ramblin' Boy - Tom Paxton
    11. Mr. Bojangles - Jerry Jeff Walker
    12. Many a Mile - Patrick Sky
    13. Early Morning Rain - Sylvia
    14. Jug Band Music - Geoff Muldaur/Jim Kweskin & the Jug Band
    15. Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag - Country Joe McDonald/The Fish
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Candy Man - Mississippi John Hurt
    2. I'm So Glad - Skip James
    3. Seventh Son - John Hammond
    4. Rambling Round Your City - Odetta
    5. Samson and Delilah - Rev. Gary Davis
    6. Cocaine - Dave Van Ronk
    7. Empire State Express - Son House
    8. San Francisco Bay Blues - Jesse Fuller
    9. Baby Please Don't Go - Lightnin' Hopkins
    10. See See Rider - The Chambers Brothers
    11. Walkin' Blues - Muddy Waters
    12. Drink Muddy Water - Sonny Terry/Brownie McGhee
    13. Great Fire of Natachez - John Lee Hooker
    14. Midnight Special - Lafayette Leake/Pete Seeger/Willie Dixon
    15. Blues With a Feeling - The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 203/05-2

  • Credits
    ProducerTom Vickers (Compilation)

    Vanguard was one of the leading folk labels of the 1960s, due both to its own studio releases and its anthologies of performances from the Newport Folk Festivals. This is a three-CD set of Vanguard material from that era, encompassing live and studio tracks by many of the major icons of the time. The list is pretty amazing, in fact: the Weavers, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Joan Baez, Judy Collins, Doc Watson, Elizabeth Cotten, Buffy Sainte-Marie, the Kingston Trio, Mimi and Richard Faria, Phil Ochs, Tom Paxton, Jerry Jeff Walker, Ian & Sylvia, Mississippi John Hurt, Dave Van Ronk, Skip James, Reverend Gary Davis, Son House, and John Lee Hooker make up only a portion of the lineup. It's divided into thematic discs that make sense and make the package more listenable, with "Roots of Folk" concentrating on the more traditional folk revivalists; "Singers & Songwriters" on the more contemporary folk-based performers, including a little folk-rock and even teetering on the edge of psychedelia with Country Joe & the Fish's "Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die Rag"; and "Folk Blues," focusing on acoustic blues for the most part, though there are also some electric tracks by the likes of the Chambers Brothers and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band (and an odd collaboration between Pete Seeger, Willie Dixon, and Lafayette Leake on "Midnight Special"). A few of the selections are quite well-known classics, like Judy Collins' version of "Turn, Turn, Turn" (a live one, not the Elektra studio recording), Buffy Sainte-Marie's "The Universal Soldier," Mimi and Richard Faria's "Pack up Your Sorrow," Elizabeth Cotten's "Freight Train," the Weavers' "If I Had a Hammer," Eric Andersen's "Violets of Dawn," the Rooftop Singers' number one single "Walk Right In," Donovan's "Catch the Wind" (a live duet with Joan Baez), Tom Paxton's "Ramblin' Boy," Mississippi John Hurt's "Candy Man," and Skip James' "I'm So Glad." There's also room for some interesting lesser-known names and performances, like Sandy Bull's "Little Maggie" and the Chambers Brothers' live covers of "People Get Ready" and "See Rider," though Joan Baez and Bob Dylan's "It Ain't Me Babe" demonstrates that their live duets were more cultural events than musical milestones. The big drawback to this set? Unbelievably, the annotation provides no original release or recording dates, which is especially vexing given that a bunch of these are live. That leaves even experts to guess as to when and even possibly where much of this was recorded, though it's safe to say that most or all of the live cuts are from the Newport Folk Festivals. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for