CD Back in the Saddle Again [New World] (CD 605487),
back to browsing

Back in the Saddle Again [New World]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Old Chisholm Trail, The - Harry McClintock
    2. Pot Wrassler, The - Harry Jackson
    3. Gol-Durned Wheel, The - Van Holyoak
    4. When the Work's All Done This Fall - Carl T. Sprague
    5. Streets of Laredo, The
    6. Sioux Indians - Marc Williams
    7. Dying Cowboy, The - Jules Verne Allen
    8. Tying a Knot in the Devil's Tail
    9. Strawberry Roan - Arizona Wranglers
    10. Lone Star Trail, The - Ken Maynard
    11. Ridge Runnin' Roan - Arizona Wranglers
    12. Whoopie Ti-Yi-Yo - John White
    13. Cowhand's Last Ride - Jimmie Rodgers
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Little Old Log Shack I Always Call My Home - Wilf Carter
    2. A-Ridin' Old Paint - Tex Ritter
    3. I Want to Be a Cowboy's Sweetheart - Patsy Montana
    4. Cattle Call - Tex Owens
    5. One More Ride - The Sons of the Pioneers
    6. Dim Narrow Trail - Texas Ruby
    7. I Want to Be a Real Cowboy Girl - The Girls of the Golden West
    8. Back in the Saddle Again - Gene Autry
    9. My Dear Old Arizona Home - Rex Allen
    10. Cowboy Stomp - The Texas Playboys/Bob Wills
    11. D-Bar-2 Horse Wrangler - Slim Critchlow
    12. City Boarders
    13. Cowboy, The - Glen Ohrlin
    14. Rusty Spurs
    15. Cowboy Song - Riders in the Sky
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 314

  • Credits
    ProducerCharlie Seeman; Charlie Seemann
    EngineerAlan Stoker

    Liner Note Author: Charlie Seemann.
    This double CD (originally a double LP, which explains its somewhat short 90 minute running time) was produced and annotated by Charlie Seeman, curator of the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The scholarship shows -- the selection of songs includes old-time authentic material such as "The Old Chisholm Trail" by Harry "Haywire Mac" McClintock (who was the real article, a cowboy as well as songwriter, union organizer, and muleskinner) as well as modern recreations of traditional material, by the likes of Harry Jackson ("The Pot Wrassler") and Van Halyoak ("The Gol-Durned Wheel"). There's room along the way for Carl T. Sprague ("When the Work's All Done This Fall"), John G. Prude (a stripped-down, authentic sounding rendition of "Streets of Laredo"), Ken Maynard ("The Lone Star Trail"), the Arizona Wranglers ("Strawberry Roan"), Glen Rice and His Beverly Hill Billies ("Ridge Runnin' Roan"), and Marc Williams ("Sioux Indians"), as well as the expected classics by Gene Autry ("Back in the Saddle Again"), the Sons of the Pioneers ("One More Ride," from an unissued radio transcription), Tex Ritter ("Riding Old Paint"), Tex Owens ("Cattle Call"), and more recent works by Rex Allen and the Riders In the Sky. It's worth owning just for Jules Verne Allen's "The Cowboy's Lament" (aka "Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie"), which sounds like a field recording sung from the other side of heaven. The notes are voluminous, and nearly as compelling as the music. Overall this is a somewhat more compact and perhaps more informative antecedent to Rhino's four-disc Songs of the West, less broad but a lot deeper (especially in the source research), with a lot more devotion to the real article and less to the pop-culture aspects of cowboy music. ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.70
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for