CD Dim Lights, Thick Smoke and Hillbilly Music: 1947 [4000127169525] (CD 4340957),
back to browsing

Dim Lights, Thick Smoke and Hillbilly Music: 1947 [4000127169525]

  • 1. Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette) - Tex Williams & the Western Caravan
    2. It's a Sin - Eddy Arnold & His Tennessee Plowboys
    3. Sugar Moon - Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys
    4. Cigarettes, Whusky, and Wild, Wild Women - The Sons of the Pioneers
    5. Cocaine Blues - Billy Hughes
    6. Milk Cow Blues - The Maddox Brothers & Rose
    7. Foggy River - Moon Mullican & the Showboys
    8. I'll Step Aside - Ernest Tubb
    9. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain - Roy Acuff & His Smokey Mountain Boys
    10. Freight Train Boogie - The Delmore Brothers
    11. So Round, So Firm, So Fully Packed - Merle Travis
    12. Signed, Sealed and Delivered - Cowboy Copas
    13. I'll Hold You in My Heart (Till I Can Hold You in My Arms) - Eddy Arnold & His Tennessee Plowboys
    14. Move It on Over - Hank Williams
    15. Never Trust a Woman - The Cumberland Valley Boys/Red Foley
    16. Shenandoah Waltz - Clyde Moody
    17. Oakie Boogie - Jack Guthrie & His Oklahomans
    18. New Pretty Blonde (New Jole Blon) - Moon Mullican & the Showboys
    19. Rockin' Chair Money - Bill Carlisle
    20. Tramp on the Street, The - The Cumberland Mountain Folks
    21. Sunny Side of the Mountain - Hawkshaw Hawkins
    22. Keep Them Cold Icey Fingers off of Me - Fairley Holden & His Six Ice Cold Papas
    23. Blue Moon of Kentucky - Bill Monroe & His Bluegrass Boys
    24. Bringin' in the Georgia Mail - Charlie Monroe & the Kentucky Pardners
    25. Dust on the Bible - The Bailes Brothers
    26. I've Found a Hiding Place - Carl Story & His Melody Four Quartet
    27. Canned Heat - Chet Atkins & His Colorado Mountain Boys
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 16952

  • Credits
    ProducerWalt Heebner; Murray Nash; Lee Gillette; Art Satherley; Stephen H. Sholes; Sydney Nathan; Paul Cohen; Colin Escott (Reissue)

    Personnel: Clyde Moody, Eddy Arnold, Ernest Tubb, Fairley Holden, Hank Williams, Lloyd Copas, Lynn Davis , Alton Delmore, Molly O'Day, Rabon Delmore, Red Foley, Walter Bailes, Charlie Monroe (vocals, guitar); Merle Travis (vocals, electric guitar); Spike Featherstone (vocals, harp); Bill Monroe (vocals, mandolin); Moon Mullican (vocals, piano); Velma E. Williams Smith, Thomas Elmer "Tommy" Duncan, Dean McKinney, Hawkshaw Hawkins, Evelyn McKinney, Jack Guthrie, Rose Maddox, Roy Acuff, Tex Williams, Bill Carlisle, Billy Hughes, Carl Story (vocals); John Bailes (tenor, guitar); Roy Lanham (guitar, electric guitar); Jethro Burns (guitar, mandolin); Chet Atkins, Jack Shook, John Y. Sullivan, Richard K. Hamilton, Quilla Hugh Freeman, Marshall Barnes, George Warren Barnes, John Weis, Lloyd Perryman, Homer Haynes, George Chumura, Hank Garland, Jimmy Winkle, Ken Carson, Lester Flatt, Louis Innis, Smokey Rogers, Tim Spencer, Bob Nolan (guitar); Matt Collins, Lester Barnard, Jr., Tex Isley, Melvin Leon Short (electric guitar); Acie Peveto, Herbert L. "Herb" Remington, Idaho Slim, Bud Duncan, Agapito "Pete" Martinez, Ivan LeRoy Wiggins, Beecher "Pete" "Bashful Brother Oswald" Kirby, Edward Mitchell, Jr., Eddie McMullan, Smokey Lohman, Ray "Kemo" Head, Noel Boggs (steel guitar); George "Speedy" Krise (dobro); Earl Scruggs, Jimmie Widener (banjo); Hugh Farr (mandolin, fiddle); Oscar Sullivan, Ira Louvin, Ernest Ferguson (mandolin); Thomas Lee Jackson Jr. (violin, fiddle); James "Slim" Martin (fiddle, harmonica, tenor saxophone); Rex Call, Smoky Fields, Fred "Red" Herron, Del Heck, Cactus Soldi, Charles Hurta, Cecil "Skeets" Williamson, Johnny Sapp, Don Maddox, James Howard "Speedy" McNatt, Adrian McDowell, Joe Holley, Robert Chubby Wise, Jesse Ashlock, Tex Atchison (fiddle); James "Jimmy" Riddle, Lonnie Glosson, Wayne Raney (harmonica); Paul Sells, Francis Tamburin, Larry DePaul, August Klein (accordion); George Werth, Don Linder, Jack McTaggart (trumpet); Ossie J. Godson, Millard Kelso, William Owen Bradley, Harold Spierer, Beasley Smith (piano); Richard Prine, Milton Curtis "Muddy" Berry, Johnny Cuviello, Farris Coursey (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
    Recording information: Broadcast Records, Hollywood, CA (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); Castle Studio, Tulane Hotel, Nashville, TN (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); CBS Studio (Radio Station KNX), Hollywood, CA (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); CBS Studio, Radio Station WBBM, Chicago, IL (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); Chicago, IL (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); Clifford Herring Studio, Fort Worth, TX (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); Columbia Studio, Hollywood, CA (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); King Studio, Cincinnati, OH (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); RCA Studio A, Chicago, IL (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); RCA Studio C, Lake Shore Drive Subdivision, IL (05/24/1945-08/18/1947); RCA Victor Studio 1, New York, NY (05/24/1945-08/18/1947).
    Illustrators: Colin Escott; Ivan M. Tribe; Dave Sax; Brenda Colladay; R.A. Andreas; Al Turner ; Steve Hathaway; Kevin Coffey.
    Photographers: Colin Escott; Ivan M. Tribe; Dave Sax; Brenda Colladay; R.A. Andreas; Al Turner ; Steve Hathaway; Kevin Coffey.
    Bob Wills, Bill Monroe, and Chet Atkins are just three of the many fine early-country innovators represented on this 1947 installment of the Bear Family's "Hillbilly Music" series. Extensive liner notes complete the excellent package.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $32.77
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for