CD The Essential Gene Autry [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 393112),
back to browsing

The Essential Gene Autry [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Back in the Saddle Again
    2. South of the Border (Down Mexico Way)
    3. Life of Jimmie Rodgers, The
    4. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
    5. Convict's Dream, The
    6. Dallas County Jail Blues
    7. Dear Old Western Skies
    8. Yellow Rose of Texas, The
    9. Mexicali Rose
    10. T.B. Blues
    11. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
    12. Amapola (Pretty Little Poppy)
    13. Listen to the Rhythm of the Range
    14. That Silver-Haired Daddy of Mine
    15. When It's Springtime in the Rockies
    16. Be Honest With Me
    17. It Makes No Difference Now
    18. Deep in the Heart of Texas
    19. Take Me Back to My Boots and Saddle
    20. You Are My Sunshine
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Jingle Jangle Jingle
    2. Don't Fence Me In
    3. Oklahoma Hills
    4. Gallivantin' Galveston Gal
    5. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
    6. Goodnight Irene
    7. Sioux City Sue
    8. Home on the Range
    9. Roly Poly
    10. I Hang My Head and Cry
    11. God Bless America
    12. Ghost Riders in the Sky
    13. On Top of Old Smokey
    14. Buttons and Bows
    15. Old Chisholm Trail
    16. Old Soldiers Never Die, They Just Fade Away
    17. Dixie Cannonball
    18. Peter Cottontail
    19. Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
    20. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 63779

  • Credits
    ProducerNedra Olds-Neal (Compilation); Larry Cohn (Compilation)

    Personnel: Gene Autry (vocals, guitar).
    Though music journalists may tout Hank Williams and Johnny Cash, the fact remains that Gene Autry was one of the most popular and commercially successful country stars of the 20th century. While a large part of Autry's impact was due to his film, television, and radio careers, his music was innovative in its own right. Mixing country song structures and a healthy dose of hillbilly twang with the polished sound of Western music (characterized by a crooning vocal approach), Autry drove a rural musical form straight into the mainstream.
    THE ESSENTIAL GENE AUTRY, Columbia's excellent two-disc overview of his output, brings together everything listeners need to know about the Singing Cowboy. The set kicks off with 1939's "Back in the Saddle Again," going on to encompass well-known Autry originals ("The Yellow Rose of Texas"), early radio pop ("You Are My Sunshine"), American folk classics ("Goodnight Irene"), Western anthems ("Jingle Jangle Jingle"), and traditional songs ("On Top of Old Smokey"). Some of the tunes here date back to the early '30s and continue through to the early '50s, while holiday ditties like "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" (which he turned into one of the top-grossing singles of all time) are also present. Autry's clear tenor, strong arrangements, and wholesome appeal shine through on this definitive set.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.69
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for